We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spotted Dog

The Spotted Dog
6 The Green | High Coniscliffe, Darlington, England
+44 1325 374351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 208 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: British, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The food was served to a great standard, loved our tapas starters, we will defiantly be back, the staff worked really hard to give us what we wanted and made our new years day one to remember we will be taking friends and family there sooooooon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    10
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford west yorkshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Never felt the need to leave a review before But !!
9 starters ordered 7 arrive, 1 ten mins ahead of the rest, 9 meals 2 arrive 15 mins early & wrong, 2 further meals never arrived at all, the food we were served was greasy, & a pie was butnt beyond edible. The Waitress blamed us for the problems & started to argue she was rude & indignant. We were also served by a child & other children family members were running around the bar. As we made our complaint the manager also started to argue with us, what happened to the customer being right. We have 2 business's of our own & customer is not always right but you never argue with them. Guess what we will never darken the door again

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We decide to go to The Spotted Dog as we hadn't been there for a while but we've recently heard excellent reports. I chose from the special menu but my husband ordered a mixed grill from the main menu. My soup followed by gammon was lovely but when my husbands mixed grill arrived, I'm not sure he knew what to say! It was huge and everything was cooked from fresh. The owner came over a few times and he was so friendly. Would definitely revisit and would recommend The Spotted Dog to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lacked flavour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went in with my family on a Thursday night, Spanish night .. The food wasn't great in fact I found it dissapointing, the paella was bland & watery, there was way too much food and not enough flavour. The sangria was too syrupy and expensive, we won't be returning anytime soon especially not on a Thursday :-(

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cracking good pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been here several times and its always been good fayre. Last time was on the way up to High Force and had a top notch steak and a decent pint of beer to wash it down with.
Warm and welcoming surrounding and friendly staff to boot. A solid place to enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Dog also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Spotted Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spotted Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.