We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome addition to Darlington!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
3a Houndgate, Darlington, England
+44 1325 788564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 208 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an independent wine merchant with a fully licensed bar specializing in boutique wines and a large range of craft beers, all delivered with spectacularly horizontal passion...
County Durham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to Darlington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We love visiting this wine bar, the atmosphere is relaxed, the surroundings are warm and inviting with a vast selection of wines (and hand pulled ales/beers) catering for any budget or taste.
We have also been to a wine tasting evening which are regularly organised by the owners and had a very enjoyable time, tasted some wonderful wines and learnt a lot.
Wonderful staff, and a superb place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    22
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just for a change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

well, it's a wine merchants that has a "boozer" license. No it's a wine bar at night and is run by a couple knowledgebale guys.
Be warned though, their stuff doesn't come cheap. I'll say it again..it isn't cheap!!
They have seating upstairs and downstairs, you have the bar and the wine racks...so while you are savouring your expensive wine, you can fanyasise about the bottles in the racks.
They also have some "craft" lagers and beers on, also at eye-watering prices, but if you have the "cahonies", you might find a +10% beers/lager on sale. Just try to balance the "bang for your bucks" equation.
They do have better value-for-money tasting evenings and they advertise them on their twitter feed. But I heard they are frequented by the free-loaders, so a booking may be in order to get your place.
They'll also do a "round the world" or "around South America" type menu's where you get to sample wines from different place for a fixed price. I saw one at £25

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Cracking cheeseboard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Visited on a work Xmas party night. Sat in the upstairs seating area which is decorated tastefully and a relaxing space to enjoy your evening. Rose wine and prosecco we had were delicious and we decided to try the cheeseboard. Excellent selection of cheeses and a good choice of crackers - would definitely have again (Other bar snacks are available too) Friendly, knowledgable staff and it was a great end to the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“the best wine bar in the north east that i've found yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

When I moved to Darlington in August this year, I was quickly disgruntled with what was available on the drinking scene, especially as I work as a Sommelier, and the average wine offering in Darlington, inside AND outside of restaurants is poor. On finding Vesuvio, all my worries were alleviated! A great selection of wines, obviously chosen by people in the know, with an emphasis on Italian wines in particular. All the staff are friendly, down to earth and know what they're on about and so were happy to recommend wines that suit my palate (and pocket), and on top of this they have a huge list of bottled beers, a decent back bar (try the diplomatico reserva exclusif rum!) and two beers on tap - what more can you ask for? Having been around most of the decent wine bars in the North East, this is easily the best for the selection, the approachabliity of the staff, and the relaxed but fun atmosphere - now my number one drinking hole! Well done guys and gals!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely the most amazing wine, light lunches and service in Darlington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I am absolutely delighted to be to write this review for Vesuvio, Darlington.

We have been regular visitors since September last year and find the customer service faultless.

The knowledge of wines and spirits held by Darren, Tom and Adrian is absolutely incredible. We have bought and tasted some amazing wines at varying prices and have never been disappointed!

Whether you wish to hold a private function or pop in or lunch, an evening out, a special occasion or just a lunchtime drink, Vesuvio is the perfect venue.

Wine tastings are held regularly giving you the opportunity to 'try before you buy' and explore wine's on offer that you would never have tried otherwise, opening up a new world of wine to the customer.

Wines available by the glass are available to taste before you commit to purchase the glass....you can't be fairer than that, I'm sure you will agree.

The food is amazing - fantastic quiche which varies weekly and other tasty bites made which are all homemade. A superb cheeseboard and other sundries are always readily available...thank you!

It doesn't matter how much you spend you will always be given the best advice and treated with the utmost courtesy.

Thank you so much....you are wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.