We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT NIGHT, GREAT FOOD AND GREAT HOSTS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of baydale beck

baydale beck
Coniscliffe Road | Low Coniscliffe Darlington, Darlington DL2 2JX, England
01325 469637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 208 Restaurants in Darlington
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: It is a pub restaurant
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT NIGHT, GREAT FOOD AND GREAT HOSTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Spent the afternoon and evening at the Baydale Beck beer festival. We arrived at 4 and were made to feel very welcome. We were seated and served ur food quickly. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The potato skins are to die for and are a must! We spent the night in the beer tent, were we sampled all wierd and wonderful ciders and beers whilst been entertained by a great band. All in all we will be back and a big THANK YOU to Tony and Jo for a cracking night!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lunch was fine. Pleasant waitress and good varied menu. The chicken with Mozzarella and tomato was tasty. Chips were very good, chunky and crisp and served with a little salad. Enjoyable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Let down by the Ladies loo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Decent pub grub in a nice environment with an outside seated area, thoroughly enjoyed the black pud parcels. Basic but adequate wine list, well priced. Loved the McDonald's sized skinny chips, can't bear those fat soggy things. The thing that let things down for me were the ladies toilets. The skirting board area is really dirty due to pipe work in front of it and years of mucky mop treatment and not a single piece of toilet paper in either of them. I hope more attention is paid to the kitchen cleanliness.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony-furphy, Manager at baydale beck, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, I did go and look at the ladies after your review and the pipes where dusty, they have now had a good clean, and the cleaner has been spoken to about this and the pipework is going to be painted shortly. Am glad you enjoyed everything else
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Went here for lunch With a friend. I had a tomato, mozzarella and basil baguette. Cheap tasteless mozzarella (infact I removed it) and cheap skinny (macdonalds style) fries. I expected real chips at least. Unlikely to bother going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

After visiting for a drink a few years ago, I was not expecting much when a group of friends went for lunch.
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and the price. The food was typical ‘pub grub’, but everyone seemed happy with their choice and the visit proved a success.
I would recommend it to friends, and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed baydale beck also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to baydale beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage baydale beck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.