We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''Fantastic Sol Tapas ''” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Tapas

Sol Tapas
28 Duke Street, Darlington DL3 7AQ , England
01325 467000
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 208 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“''Fantastic Sol Tapas ''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went here for lunch with friends Carol and Carolyn to celebrate Carolyn's 60th birthday,and it was fantastic !!!! We had the lunchtime special menu £9.95 for three courses '', spot on '',our first visit ,it wont be our last !! Staff very helpful,friendly ,this restaurant had a great atmosphere , a little piece of Spain right here in Darlington , highly recommend this little gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    60
    22
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had a very nice meal out with the hubby,
3 courses for 16.95 on a Saturday night is good value,
The atmosphere was lovely too small and cosy downstairs, the food was good too I had veg paella which was really nice would have been nice with some bread hubby enjoyed all of his too.
Loved the sinks in the ladies too
Really enjoyed and will return .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots of choice, very tasty, authentic experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a meal with my mother in summer of last year and it was fantastic!
The menu was varied and I was so spoilt for choice, everything we did order was brilliant. Very flavourful and I particularly recommend the patatas bravas, which so few Spanish tapas bars get right but these were fantastic!
The staff were friendly and ready to offer recommendations and explanation wherever it was needed.
The place was beautifully decorated and had a lovely atmosphere.
I didn't even see the bill (lucky me) so I can't comment on the prices but I was told for what we got it was very reasonable.
Highly recommended!
X
P.s. I would like to return with my partner as I imagine all the little nooks and crannies would make for quite an intimate romantic meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. Staff are knowledgeable and very helpful. The food is superb, especially the fish platter. Highly recommend for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited here today for lunch and it is by far the best restaurant in town. Food is gorgeous and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Will definetly be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Tapas also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to Sol Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.