We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Royal Thai
94 - 96 Parkgate, Darlington DL1 1RS, England
01325 361717
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 202 Restaurants in Darlington
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We usually try and find a Thai restaurant in every town we visit, so we are not regulars and have eaten better Thai food, but we were not disappointed by the anything, the food, drink, the price or the restaurant. It was quiet on the night we went, so we did not experience any problems with the order. Overall it was very good and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
notheast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out&about!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have visited on several occassions, and service can be slow depending on the number of guests. Also when several guests at a table, waitress (because of language) tend to get orders confused. However in general quality of the meals was good. Staff are very pleasant and try to please in spite of mix ups at times.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Tasty and fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Me an' wifey had an early bird special before going to the theatre over the road. It was still quiet at that time, so service was super fast but without being over attentive. The meal was tasty and nicely presented, and at under £20 for two three course meals - excluding drinks - who can complain at that?

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great service great food , never had a bad meal yet will continue to go there

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a surprise to find such an excellent Thai restaurant in Darlington. My wife s Thai and were visiting family in Darlington. We found this restaurant by chance but, we thoughly enjoyed the food which was true Thai and in addition the owner has a Thai food shop right across the road. We struggle to find as good as this London. Brilliant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Thai also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.