We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shapla Indian

Shapla Indian
192 Northgate, Darlington DL1 1QU, England
01325 283378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 210 Restaurants in Darlington
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice food,staff are very friendly,very good value 5 course meal only £9.95,one of the best restaurant in town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in Darlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Potion sizes are large & always brilliant. We have been going here for years and cannot fault anything we have eaten here. The beef Sri Lanka is absolutely beautiful. I recommend this place to everyone

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just been to Shapla with my husband, brother and girlfriend and my mam and dad. We al enjoyed our food, the portions sizes are just right. We had 2 bottles of wine plus an extra 2 glasses, a fair few bottles of cobra and soft drinks plus a baileys coffee. To be fair we seemed to eat and drink loads and the bill was only £130. Would def go back. The place was very clean and the staff were lovely

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Superb food-excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Visited here many times and never dissapointed, the quality and quantity is amazing for the price as is the service.Been to many Indian restaurants and this is up there with the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian by far Shapla-North Road Darlington.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Well people rave about food at various Indian restaurants.... Tried loads with much disapiontment... Always compare to Shapla and nowhere comes out as good on Service/quality/taste/and price. No waiting around squashed in a waiting area! I wont bother trying anywhere else or listern to the raving about other places. As a regular we always get free popadoms and the odd apparatife/shot. SHAPLA SHAPLA SHAPLA

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shapla Indian also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to Shapla Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shapla Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.