We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family dining, good place to meet friends for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White Heifer That Travelled

The White Heifer That Travelled
West Park | John Fowler Way, Darlington DL2 2GG, England
1325 462464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 208 Restaurants in Darlington
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Family dining, good place to meet friends for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although a pub it is popular with families. Basic menu, basic food, fairly reasonably priced. Good edge of town lunch venue, not too busy, good parking.
Staff polite and pleasant, table service.
Outdoor seating area for warmer days.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    18
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sunday buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Well the heifer has not let me down again, I attended a friends party at the weekend and they had a HOT yes HOT and cold buffet. The selection was great and the quality was spot on. What did stand out was the presentation was 1st class. The Chef/ manager I believe even came out to make sure all way well.Well done Chef a buffet to remember for all the right reasons 10/10

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't ask for well done steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ate here again last week, there was 4 of us and 3 were happy, but...

I ordered a rump steak and asked for it to be very well done I like the burnt crispy bits on the outside, when our meals came out my poor poor rump steak had been battered to a thin piece of meat with all mallet marks no dry crispy bits nothing, it was also damp ??? .
I told the waiter when he came to collect the plates and he said it was because I ordered it well done and everyone else wanted medium, surely you just put it on earlier ??
I was given a free desert to make up for it but it didn't make up no main course at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Been here a couple of times and wasn't impressed but apparently it's under new management so we thought we would go back. Went there for Sunday lunch today (2 adults/2 kids) and the offer is 2 courses, 2 desserts for £15 which is really good. The staff were really nice and our food order arrived withing 5-10 minutes of ordering. The kids food was great, large portions and they really liked it and I was surprised at how big our portions were. Good points: portion size, staff were lovely, it's clean, kids were happy, inexpensive, loads of veg, homemade yorkshires. Bad points: beef was tasteless (not sure what it was), frozen roast potatoes (although they were cooked!), watery gravy. Overall, for £15 for 4 courses, it was good value and the apple crumble & custard was lovely but not sure we would go back for Sunday lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham, england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fond memeories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

lovely staff food very good. lots of choice. my Mam was ahrd to please when it came to eating out but LOVED this place, never complianed once !!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Heifer That Travelled also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Bishop Auckland, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The White Heifer That Travelled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Heifer That Travelled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.