We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Tree Inn

The Oak Tree Inn
Yarm Road | Middleton St. George, Darlington DL2 1HN, England
01325 335381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 208 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Vegetarian, English, Family Fare, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Open Tuesday to Sunday lunchtimes and Monday to Saturday evenings. Sunday lunch from 12-4. All food is home cooked. No bought-in or microwaved meals. Main menu, vegetarian options, daily specials, sharing platters and baguettes available. Child portions of adult menu available.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Another nice Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great Sunday lunch good quality meat roast potatoes, mash and Yorkshire pudding.

Kindly offered to do veggie dinner complete with gravy which was lovely. Didn't enjoy vegetables as much this time crammed into tiny side dishes it was difficult to choose which you wanted and I'd have preferred cauliflower and broccoli but you can't please everyone!

Very attentive service with a smile. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you. We will take notice of your comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best Sunday lunch in the area .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I visit the oak tree most Sundays because the Sunday lunch is the tastiest there is. I have tried a lot of other places, but none of them are anywhere near as good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for this. It is gratifying that so many customers come back on a regular basis. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Weve been going to the oak tree for about a year now. We live in msg so its very close for us, but it isnt the proximity that keeps us going back - its the food!
we have never had a bad meal here, reasonable prices and lovely home cooked food. We can recommend the parmo and sweet and sour chicken. Have also tried the specials before and they have never dissapointed us. Sunday lunch also great book ahead to make sure you get in. We are quite picky and have found this pub food far exceeds others in the area such as devonport and fighting cocks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much. This means a lot to all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

was there sat 15 feb there was 14 of us table was booked for 7 oclock meals were pre ordered wwe were not seated till 7 20 . Meal did not arrive till 7 45 we booked for 14 the table was only set for 12 food was not very good .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We were fully booked on the 15th. As all our meals are freshly cooked we stagger booking times to try to avoid a build up of food orders. The first large party, booked for 5.30, failed to show or to let us know. The second large party arrived late and led to delays. Pre-orders help with preparation and stock control but not with cooking time. We aim to serve all the meals for a party at the same time. This means that service times are determined by the most complex dish. If all the party order fish and chips, this can be served quite quickly. If choices have been made from the specials menu then the service time for the party is increased. We do a service check shortly after we have served meals to ensure that customers are happy and that amends can be made for any concerns. We do a further service check at the end of the meal. We were not made aware of any issues at the time and are disappointed that you were not as satisfied as the vast majority of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant meals and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've eaten here several times now and can honestly say we've never had a bad meal yet! The staff are so friendly and helpful and will even tweek your meals to suit your taste if they can. Excellent Pub!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you. Your comments are much appreciated. We are a small, family run business and try hard to make all our customers feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Tree Inn also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.