We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Tree Inn

The Oak Tree Inn
Yarm Road | Middleton St. George, Darlington DL2 1HN, England
01325 335381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 208 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Vegetarian, English, Family Fare, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Open Tuesday to Sunday lunchtimes and Monday to Saturday evenings. Sunday lunch from 12-4. All food is home cooked. No bought-in or microwaved meals. Main menu, vegetarian options, daily specials, sharing platters and baguettes available. Child portions of adult menu available.
darlington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Always superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at the Oak Tree many many times and love the food! I think we must have tried everything on the menu at some point or another. The food is always cooked beautifully and presented extremely well, price is very reasonable and service always superb. We've also attended the party nights and these are always a great laugh with a tasty buffet.
You must try it!
Mike and Faye

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
much appreciated Mike and Faye. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had one of our best ever New Year's eve nights.With a friendly atmosphere, disco and karaoke and a lovely buffet too.
Thanks again Oak Tree, you all made it a great night.
Lesley and Steve Davies

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much. We thought there was a lovely atmosphere for New Year's Eve and it is nice to get such feedback. Photographs are now available on the 'images' section of the web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been to the Oak Tree for meals on an evening and was impressed, so thought would give it a try for Sunday lunch. Booked for 4 people, but only 3 of us went . Its the best sunday lunch I have had for ages. Portions plentiful, with large yorkshire Pudding, mashed potato, roast potatos and stuffing. Then a turine of mised veg, mashed turnip, glazed carrots, red cabbage and garden peas, and additional pot of gravy. All food was piping hot. Excellent meal, and excellent service from all staff from start to finish. I was even given some after dinner mints to take home for my mother who could not come, as she was ill.
Very good value for money Sunday Lunch.
A child was screaming in the bar, and we were sat in the restaurant, but could hear. On paying the bill, I received an apology for the noise, which was totally out of the staffs control. It was ignorant parents to blame for not dealing with this.
Will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you. Your comments are much appreciated by all the staff concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

lovely warm atmospheric public house, food superb, greeted by a lovely young barmaid called Nicola. Was very disappointed in a young lady who i think went by the name of Helen who was very miserable and abrupt who looked like she was chewing wasps throughout the duration of my eating my Sunday dinner. Very rude with clearly no manners. Im only glad that the food was so good that i overcame my urge to eat it and not throw it over her!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the four stars. Helene is the manager of the Oak Tree and her main job is to make sure that everyone else does theirs. The success of the Oak Tree over the last fifteen months is largely due to the combination Peter's cooking talents and Helene's management skills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Went with two adults and a child. We all enjoyed the Sunday lunch, good value and nice enough. Not the best Sunday dinner in the area but very good especially for the price. Stuffing and a few more veg would improve it further. Would recommend visiting here and we will return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Sunday lunches do normally come with stuffing and we are always happy to serve extra vegetables on request. These little things make a difference and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Tree Inn also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.