We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devonport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Devonport Hotel to your Saves list
Devonport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   16-18 The Front | Middleton One Row, Darlington DL2 1AS, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Darlington B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cyclist Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked a one night stay as two cyclists in a twin room, the hotel was happy to let us put the bikes in the outside storage rooms so they were safe and dry overnight.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was spot on. With breakfast included I could not fault the price, great value.
The room was clean and only let down slightly by the weak shower but there was a bath if you were after a proper soak.
Great location near Darlington, Middlesbrough and the North Yorkshire Moors and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
41
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights here on a KGB voucher, wish we could have stayed longer. I have rated the Devonport 'very good' if not for a few silly things in our room (11) it would have gained an excellent. The bed base was too low and had seen better days, the toilet seat was all loose, no plug for the wash hand basin and could only open one window which had to be jammed open with a book. The good points were.....the guys behind the bar and waitering were great, nothing was too much trouble for them, very friendly staff and the food was also very good. Would enjoy a return here maybe later in the year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for a birthday dinner with the in laws and our two young children. Because our children have serious food intolerances I phoned and confirmed by email their Dietary requirements, the staff were so helpful, double checked with the chef and arranged for the correct type of food to be available.
The food was excellent, the children's food prepared with no fuss and the waiting on staff very helpful.
We then returned a few days later with some more family because we had such good all round service.
Thank you, and we can't wait to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We initially approached the Devonport as a wedding location because we sought somewhere to celebrate our wedding where we would be able to organise what we wanted, rather than be rail roaded into the 'traditional' wedding, We were not at all disappointed! From our initial meeting with Ant we felt totally comfortable that he understood our brief and this was totally evident in the outcome of the day. All of the staff went above and beyond what we expected to make this a day to remember and to make the day a memorable experience for all of our guests, They were creative and adaptable when trying to meet out needs and we all throughly appreciated this.The food was also just what we wanted and the atmopshere matched this! This is a great location for a wedding if you do not want a corporate affair!!

The main bits of the hotel have been updated to a lovely standard, and whilst some of the bed rooms require a bit of updating they are still excellent value for money at their current price with breakfast included.

We would recommend this hotel, and their staff, for any relaxed event!

The newly wed Mr and Mrs Wright

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, during which we visited NRM Shildon for the recent A4 Pacific 'Great Goodbye' event. Having almost opted to stay somewhere closer to that location, I'm very glad we didn't - because our stay at The Devonport turned out to be very good indeed.

The property is easy to locate and is within a 10 minute drive of Darlington - well signposted off the main A67 road. If you don't have a car, Dinsdale railway station is within walking distance and provides direct connections to Darlington and elsewhere. It is also more or less adjacent to Tees Valley airport - so would be very handy if you had a flight to catch.

The location is semi-rural with pleasant views over a valley and onto open fields. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and seemed genuinely keen to ensure we were well looked after. Our room was located at the rear of the building overlooking the terrace and was clean, comfortable and quiet. The fixtures and fittings were a bit elderly and because the towel rail in the bathroom wasn't working it felt rather chilly in there, but overall it suited our needs just fine.

We stayed on a B&B basis, but also ate in the hotel on our first and last nights. The food at both breakfast and dinner was very good indeed - and we felt also quite reasonably priced. We were particularly impressed that when we said we needed to leave around 7am in order to get to Shildon by 7.45, someone came in early to ensure that we were able to have at least something to eat before we left.

Overall, we felt that The Devonport offered excellent value for money and we enjoyed our stay very much. We would have no hesitation whatsoever in returning should we be in the area in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed a night and had an evening meal here. I'm sorry we did. Uncomfortable bed in a very standard room with a bathroom that reminded us of care homes. Thin curtains which didn't keep out the street light AND the spotlit sign for the hotel. We told the lady on reception we would need to check out at 7.15. No, breakfast was not possible - not even the offer of a tray. Come on, even premier inn can manage this sort of thing (and more cheaply). Staff in the bar were pleasant, but both our meals were typical English pub fare - boring, fatty and overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't get the one with the sign outside. Check your curtains before accepting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend at the hotel on a KGB deal. The setting of the hotel is very good, overlooking the valley of the Tweed. There are plenty of car parking spaces, free of charge. The welcome by the staff was excellent. Booking in was very quick. Our room was on the front of the hotel overlooking the valley, with a large bay window, (room 12). It had all the amenities one could wish for. The dining area was separate from the bar area, but within easy reach. The menu was quite extensive, with a good choice to suite most palates The quality of the food was excellent, and the price not excessive. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This is a hotel we would be very happy to return to.

Room Tip: Room 12 is on the south overlooking the valley. Good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devonport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport Hotel

Address: 16-18 The Front | Middleton One Row, Darlington DL2 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Devonport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.