We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwell Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackwell Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Blackwell Grange Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Darlington, Darlington DL3 8QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Darlington
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night break. The staff were really friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. We ate in the hotel both nights, the food was wonderful. The grounds are nice to have a walk round. Went into Darlington for the afternoon, it's a nice place to visit. Everyone was so friendly. The hotel is in a great location. Didn't use the spa, but next time we visit we will make sure we do. Our room was a little tired (was told that it is due to be refurbished soon) but very spacious and clean and didn't spoil our weekend at all.on the way back home we visited Richmond. Would recommend the hotel and will definitely visit again and soon

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    34
    23
    11
See reviews for
19
77
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at Blackwell grange. Really nice rooms, clean and spacious enough.
The food was excellent in the restaurant and was plentiful. Staff are always courteous and helpful.
Tried the pool and gym this time. The pool was lovely and warm with free towels provided. I'm not a regular at gymnasiums :=) so can't comment on equipment, but the treadmills were quite modern. The sauna was good too.
Breakfast was help yourself with the usual fare and was well cooked. Will definitely return.

Recommended.

Alan Y.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there as we attended a function in another hotel and to my surprise this hotel was the fraction of the price of the other hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and the reception area was beautiful with it's original open fire. The corridors leading to the rooms could do with a lick of paint as they are a tad gloomy and outdated. the room was comfortable and clean, however we could smell stale nicotine. Another small downfall was the lack of thermostat in the room as it was a cold night and no way to adjust the temperature. Breakfast was good and overall we liked the hotel. Very good value for money and we would stay again and also recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at the Blackwell Grange for my brother's wedding and it was a great day and night and food was fantastic great place to hold a wedding reception and evening do a very good place for photos on the main stairs with open fire at the bottom

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

went to this hotel for business reasons and what to say it was 20 mins walk on busy road to he town the beer was flat and served in the wrong glasses but the food was ok and the rooms were not bad if you like the noise of banging doors and loud talking the worse of it was the fire alarm going off at midnight and then again at about 2 in the morning , not good if your up for work and even worse when they tell u its something to do with the alarm remote instead of telling the truth that some clown probably set it off as they had a few parties going on , then at breakfast they say sorry sir you need to pay for breakfast after not a lot of sleep because of fire alarms she had to be told that my firm had already paid so not a great experience for me.

Room Tip: can't choose a good room as fire alarm goes off everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Met up with family for a few days break, dinner (1st night ) and 2 nights bed breakfast included, all round good value for money, hotel was warm and welcoming, charismatic and well decorated for Christmas, staff attentive friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast was hearty and set you up for the day, we had dinner in restaurant one night and bar meal the next, very good quality. Afternoon tea beside the open fire after spending the day in Durham, quality.... Leisure suit was the only let down where the saunas, which were lovely and clean, were separate male and female and no there was no area to rest beside the pool and jacuzzi, this area needs a revamp. We will have no hesitation staying again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just off A66. I was pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel. Room was a decent size and hotel was spotless. Food excellent and reasonably priced. Open log fire in the lounge with a beautiful xmas tree.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackwell Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Grange Hotel

Address: Darlington, Darlington DL3 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackwell Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Georgian Country Mansion, dating from 1700, with modern extension. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackwell Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Grange Darlington
Hotel Blackwell Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwell Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.