We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled people being considered!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrowgate Hill Lodge

Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harrowgate Hill Lodge to your Saves list
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Harrowgate Hill, Darlington DL1 3AD, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Darlington
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disabled people being considered!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

At long last a Hotel/public building that actually has taken the meaning of Disabled Toilet facilities and implemented them correctly!
The disabled toilet on the ground floor is the best in the UK (believe me I have tried a few) and this one gets a full 5 stars from me. Firstly the entrance is accessible easily for wheel chairs, no dodgy manouevering to get the chair in or out, secondly once you get in there is room for a wheelchair and a carer if necessary. This means that transfer from chair to toilet and back again is easily achieved. The washbasin is at a perfect height for wheel chair users, and the toilet roll is also easily accessible from the toilet thus avoiding falling. But most importantly it is SPOTLESSLY CLEAN. Well done, spoke to the owner today and had a chat about other things, which I am sure he will take up when able to.

Room Tip: please don't be afraid to say you are disabled, it s not a crime in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    24
    10
    25
See reviews for
11
19
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Rooms arent great, lift didn't work 3 flights of stairs to go up and down when needing a fag. Staff were frendly handy snack fridge open all night obviously as additional costs, breakfast extra 2.50 pp. All in all I stay there again its got everything u need.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here with my husband as we were going to a do at the pub next door so we stayed more out of convenience than anything else. The room itself was grubby and needed a good clean and refurb, the bath, toilet and sink all were stained and cracked. There was some kind of biscuit chunks/crumbs on the floor, there was salt or sugar in the drawers and the beds were two divans pushed together which meant the bed had a strange slope to it. In the bathroom I found an ear bud and a perfurme sample in one of the plastic cups, left there by a previous guest, not sure how you could miss that when cleaning it. The staff were nice and friendly. The "continental breakfast" at the extra cost of £2.50 was cornflakes and some cheap bread toasted and brought to us by a lovely lady but it was cold by the time we got it. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A group of us were going to a party in Darlington so we stopped en masse in this hotel.
There was plenty of free parking. The reception and breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. The room, although reminiscent of a bed and breakfast, was clean, spacious with all the amenities required.
And we certainly appreciated the tea and coffee in the room, the morning after the night before :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here overnight with my hubby while in Darlington on business. Competitive prices yes, I should have heard the warning bells. Lift not working so four flights of stairs to climb.
Bathroom needed a good refit and thorough cleansing. Grout at back of wash basin and bath disgusting. Bath panel filthy. Hair dryer from the ark which blew lukewarm air only in a light breeze, not sufficient to dry and style hair.
£2.50 extra per person for breakfast....cereal consisted of cornflakes or cornflakes. Toast from a cheap sliced loaf.
Staff very pleasant and helpful but J&S Hotels need to invest significantly in this property to bring into line with the huge competition in this area.
Garden area approaching main reception full of fag ends, not a good first impression.

Room Tip: Ground floor as lift is temperamental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our expectations were low due to lots of negative comments. However, we were warmly welcomed. The room was a good size with 2 decent beds. It was clean and whilst slightly dated it was charming. Modern hotels have fitted furniture. This one had real oak furniture. We didn't have breakfast as choice was limited and we needed porridge before the Great North Run. I would stay here again. It was great value and conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Shabby, noisy, dated, tired, unwelcoming, fairly cheap but not worth staying at.
Total lack of interest and enthusiasm by staff who are not treated well themselves by all accounts. They certainly seem fed up!
No wonder, with all the guests complaining!
Rightly so, too!

Room Tip: Keep away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrowgate Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrowgate Hill Lodge

Address: Harrowgate Hill, Darlington DL1 3AD, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Harrowgate Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrowgate Hill Hotel Darlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrowgate Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.