We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raby Hunt Restaurant

The Raby Hunt Restaurant
Summerhouse, Darlington, England
01325 374237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 202 Restaurants in Darlington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stockton on Tees
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Still first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a return visit and did not disappoint. Worth at least one Michelin star for the taste and presentation of all the dishes. Keep up the excellent standard. We will be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lives up to and surpasses its reputation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to the Raby Hunt as a surprise graduation present and it certainly did not disappoint!

On arrival we were directed to a champagne lounge where we were able to browse through the menus to order our food and drink. The prices were very reasonable considering the prestige of the restaurant and the quality of the food and service. Whilst choosing our courses we had the delight of a complimentary dehydrated artichoke and Whitby crab canape.

The restaurant itself was large enough to offer privacy whilst also being small enough to allow for a great atmosphere. The service was impeccable with the waiters being attentive but not obtrusive to the meal.

We were presented with a complimentary amuse bouche of duck liver parfait wrapped in smoked eel with beetroot prepared three ways which was simply stunning.

Starters were; razor clam with pea morels, almond and brown shrimp that was beautifully presented within the razor shell itself, and squab pigeon. The pigeon was served with beetroot, fresh peach, peach puree, and pate. The pigeon was a part of the breast and leg cooked medium - it was gorgeous..

Main courses were; Tamworth suckling pig with apple and smoked potato, and Raby Hunt Estate venison loin with venison ragu, salt baked beetroot and celeriac. Both were incredible- full of vibrant flavours and cooked to perfection.

The cheese selection was simply divine and the impressive knowledge from the waitress made it all the more special. The cheese board boasts 12 different cheeses from which you are able to choose 6. The lady informed us of the different varieties of cheese on offer- their regional origin, expected flavours and history when applicable. There were many local cheeses to choose from which was a lovely touch. Cheeses for all tastes; brie, camembert, goat's cheese, stilton, cheddar, and also a selection of unusual cheeses that were personally new to us. There was a 'marmite' cheese which the more daring cheese fan could try as it was very strong in flavour and is loved by some and hated by others (Well worth a try in our opinion!) The port was a welcome accompaniment to the cheese selection and the biscuit selection was also superb. If you dine in the Raby Hunt and enjoy your cheese then this cheese board will be a fantastic way to end your experience!

We would thoroughly recommend the Raby Hunt to all, the experience was extraordinary and we will most definitely be returning!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great value for money, good service, beautiful canapés, fantastic dessert (the infamous 'chocolate bar'); However, if I'm honest I thought the starter was 'nice', as another reviewer mentioned I think the claw on the pigeon was unnecessary (most of us after all do also eat with our eyes). The main was disappointingly small, and the duck fat was not crispy (as I would have preferred). Overall a good experience and worth a visit for the chocolate bar alone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Boldon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great food. Great atmosphere. Great people. Highly recommended!

Big thanks to the staff and particularly to Martyn, who dropped us off at our hotel!

My personal favourite was the Razor Clam and the dehydrated artichoke and Whitby crab canapes were to die for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best food in the North East!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

At last we have a Michelin starred restaurant in the North East; the only one in all of Northumberland, Tyne & Wear and Durham. I'm delighted to report that since gaining their first star last September prices have remained reasonable. Better still, the standard of the food and service seem better than ever. My wife and have been lucky enough to eat in the finest restaurants in the UK and the food that James Close creates at the Raby Hunt can stand up to that of some of the greatest chefs including Raymond Blanc and Michel Roux. On our most recent visit we had the finest rack of lamb we've ever tasted. The whole experience was second to none.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raby Hunt Restaurant also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 

Been to The Raby Hunt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raby Hunt Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.