We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guildhall Tavern

The Guildhall Tavern
15 Market Street, Poole BH15 1NB, England
01202 671717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 301 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: $39 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent French Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The best French Restaurant outside of France. French staff who are very polite and very knowledgeable.

Food superb, wine list pretty good (as a non drinker)

Book in advance - And enjoy

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    55
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Poole by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited on the Sunday evening of the August bank holiday weekend for my dad's birthday celebrations - 5 adults and a 4yr old.

As soon as we walked through the door the staff were so welcoming and the good service continued throughout the meal. All of the staff were so friendly taking time not just to check that everything was ok but to chat in general. Even answering my sons many questions of what everything was on the menu (he was looking at the pictures) and offering to do him a child's hake if he wanted fish - he actually opted for the prawn omelette which was packed full of prawns.

Between us we sampled the prawn & scallop mornay, lobster, halibut, steak and lamb all served with chips, potatoes & veg and all agreed that it was fantastic. Despite being full we squeezed dessert in and they were all delicious too.

We can't wait to go back as this is most certainly the best place to eat in Poole.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service, Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Its not very often I get to say Great, Great, Great but this experience was just that. Everything was just right the whole experience made for a great evening out and we will be returning. Fish was fresh and cooked to perfection and sides were very generous portions. Wine was also very good as was the bread. We will certainly be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My new favourite - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Having popped in on the off chance on Saturday lunch time (super busy and buzzy!)of booking a table the same evening, we were informed they were fully booked, but unlike many restaurants our details were taken in case of a cancellation and told 'anything is possible' by Sebastian! Suffice to say, we were called within a couple of hours and offered a table later the same evening! The staff failed to disappoint us from the minute we stepped over the threshold! The food is delicious but its the staff that have made this a new favourite for us - polite but not OTT, attentive but not oppressive, but most notably the extra mile they go to make your evening special! We'd come back to Poole Quay if only to have dinner here - definitely worth a visit! Thank you from Pip & Steve!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A good dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good choice of food and wine. Well presented, of a high standard. The service was perfect, not too obsequious but professional. All three of us enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guildhall Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Guildhall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guildhall Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.