We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small dirty and they don't care” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Milsoms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Milsoms Hotel to your Saves list
Milsoms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   47 Haven Road | Canford Cliffs, Poole BH13 7LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Poole B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small dirty and they don't care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

On arrival found the car park to be full with restaurant customers cars

No one on reception which is a scruffy desk at the entrance to the restaurant. Paper work, wires and just looking temporary and disorganised.

When someone did show up we got our key and were directed up the stairs past the restaurant toilets, along a corridor with doors open on to cleaning storeroom

The room when we opened the door was barely big enough for the two of us, having to rotate around each other to pass by the bed which almost filled the room.

What floor space there was meant that putting a bag down meant having to step over it to walk around the bed. Likewise getting into the shower room with two peopl at the same end of the room was tricky.

Room had drill holes above the curtain rails not filled, tea stain splashs on the walls beside the bed (everything in this room was beside the bed) the duvet had unidentified "crumbs" and pubic hair and the carpet under the bed and bed side tables had obviously never been hoovered, the dust was that thick including allsorts of detritus such as feathers!

On complaining we were told all the rooms were like this but we could leave if we wanted. We left and immediately found a better hotel

This is a restaurant with a seperate hotel on top as an afterthought, making your money with a little bit of accomodation may make sense if you did it right, this was the worst sort of low effort. My partner wouldn't eat in the restaurant after seeing how the hotel was run.

The hotel devalues the restaurant at best at worst is loosing it custom

Probably the worst hotel stay for a long time and that includes trips to less ideal areas such as west africa...

Avoid

Room Tip: Just don't stay here at all
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
6
46
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here as it is a convenient position for us. The first time we stayed there was no hot water but the staff were very helpful and reflected the problem in the bill.

This time all worked except the TV remote, which they tried to resolve by taking one from another room as no new batteries available but that didn't work either. The rooms and bathrooms really look tired and black mould in the bathroom and signs of lack of use of bleach in the toilet to take the stains away are unacceptable in the 21st century!!

The saving grace here are the helpful and cheerful staff, the good breakfast and enjoyable evening meal.

Would we stay here again? Not until there is a complete refurb. Would we eat here again, - yes.

Room Tip: Avoid bedroom near the fire door to the bedrooms as it bangs shut. Rooms 5 or 4 are away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Accommodation here is a little poor. Worst of all was not having a working shower (no bath), what a nightmare! In the Hotel's defence they may not of known, but as a guest I don't think to check the shower until the morning either! By then it is too late. Black mould in the bathroom, ceiling peeling in the room, slept with all the windows as wide open as I could to try and keep air circulating rather than breath in the spoors from the black mould. Glad I was only staying one night. One positive is that the linen was clean, but overall the room was not. I could not try out the cooked breakfast as I had an early start and left at 7:30 but I did grab a couple of pastries and they were gorgeous. Cold breakfast did look very nice indeed. Pound for pound a very poor place. I am a frequent visitor to Poole for business and this place is firmly at the bottom of the list as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

the hotel signage was very poor,(we drove past it twice) as this is a restuarant first and foremost.and the restuarant sign is more visable thatn the hotel name which is much smaller underneath . The room was small and grubby with lots of hairs on mattress and layer of dust on most surfaces.The reception was a desk in the restuarant. our room was above the kitchen and was very noisy with a loud drone from the air conditioning unit, keeping us awake all night, the noise from the kitchens restarts at approx 7am ( just what you need when away on a break !). Breakfast was an eye opener, with cereal bowls which I assume double up as finger bowls in the evening( they were tiny) it was a struggle to fit milk into the bowl if you used a whole mini cereal box.. The cooked breakfast was basically inedible, everything was cold and tasteless- the sausages were totally bland.We had no hot water and reported this before we went out for the day , on our return we were told it was fixed and was due to low pressure ! ! I never knew water pressure affected the temperature, but hey, I'm no plumber ! The water was still cold so during our 2 night stay we washed in barely luke warm water.when we mentioned this to the manager, he replied" well, I bet that woke you up !" not the response we expected. We gave cooked breakfast a miss on the last morning and just had cereal and toast. In the managers defence ,he was not there when we checked out but refunded one nights stay for the inconvenience, which was a small consolation for two days wasted of our summer break .

Room Tip: avoid room 4 or any above the kitchen .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Easy to find, and a warm welcome, provided by all staff. Car parking available, albeit some limitations, direct access to Hotel & Bar. Drinks prices were average, and the house wines palatable.
Good co-operation regarding an early start and a breakfast tray to start us off.
Comfortable bed with spotless bedding and room; ensuite was looking a tad 'tired'.
Fine for an overnight stay, perhaps no more than a day or two, as the room was on the small side.
No problem with a return for a nights stay en route the South West.
Restaurant food was good, and staff attentive. Salad & cold food prep carried out in view of the dining room by Chef. Seating was good with no 'cramping' of tables.
All in all, just about right - other than the seagulls!

Room Tip: Make sure you are at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night, at a price that knocked spots off the local "budget" offerings. Room was pleasant, clean and baby friendly.

No cots left when we arrived but one was purchased and set up for us in great time. And the Loch Fyne breakfast was a real bonus!!

Great location, in amongst some of the most desirable houses in the world!

Will return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel itself was lovely and clean and in a good location, we would stay there again; however, we felt the service was a little lacking, we had to wait ages before somebody even checked us in and although the guy was polite there was no attempt to go the extra mile, which we have experienced in other accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milsoms Hotel

Address: 47 Haven Road | Canford Cliffs, Poole BH13 7LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milsoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milsoms Hotel Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milsoms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.