We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The White House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Bed & Breakfast
31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Poole B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful - couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 7 nights at this lovely B&B. Carol & Rob were very welcoming and our room (Sparrow) was warm and comfortable and well equipped with a door leading to an enclosed garden area for our little shih-tzu Benji to have a 'mooch' around, The breakfasts were delicious and served with absolutely no fuss each and every day and the convivial conservations with Carol and Rob set us up for busy days ahead in and around the Poole area. The lovely home made cakes were an extra treat and much appreciated as was the ramp and the wet room as this made life considerably easier as I am disabled. Everything was perfect, and done with attention to all the details!! A big thanks from Benji for those breakfast sausages Carol !! Thank you so much for making our holiday a memorable one and we will certainly be coming back soon to your awesome B&B!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your outstanding review we are missing benji and his barking when he see's me we are also missing our chats in the morning you know how we like to chat. We are looking forward to your next visit thanks once again for the great review appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
181
27
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just spent 2 nights at this wonderful B&B...I can certainly see why they won the 2012 TripAdvisor Award!

The house itself is amazing! As for the rooms they are light, a good size, very comfortable, clean and brilliantly equipped...the added little touches of homemade cake in your room each day is lovely (all fat free of course, so good for the waistline).

The breakfasts are amazing with a choice of various cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts to a full english. All the food is fresh and locally sourced...I'm certainly going to miss the eggs from the Rhode Island hens!

Carol, Rob (Thomas & Tibby) are so welcoming and accommodating; you feel like you're staying with friends! It's a real home from home and I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Well what can I say your review is great we never stop trying to get better so hopefully next time you come to stay we will be even better thanks for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just spent three nights at The White House B&B in Poole and can highly recommend it. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were delicious. There were some nice extra touches like homemade cake for us to have with tea in our room. Carol and Rob were most welcoming and I hope we shall return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We hope you shall return also we always like to see your guests again thank you for taking time out to write a great review we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed one night in March on a business trip. The room was magnificent - modern, superbly equipped and very comfortable. The house is very impressive - like something out of Grand Designs. The proprietors could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and we would be very keen to stay there again when we need accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the excellent report we try to make every one feel at home and are glad that we met your expectations thanks for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful light rooms with all mod cons. We were welcomed like old friends with coffee and cake. Excellent food had the full english and lovely fresh fruit. Plus they took their precious car out of the garage so we could put our bikes away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review happy you liked us. We were glad to provide garage parking for your motorbikes just part of the service! thanks for taking the time we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having spent two nights at The White House I cannot praise it enough,what wonderful hosts Carol and Rob are, nothing is too much trouble for them from lovely homemade cake in your room to driving us down to the pub at night.the rooms are lovely and I wish I could have taken my bed home it was so comfy, this is a very modern home and is of such a high standard add this to the warm and friendly feel you get when staying here then you know you have found somewhere special.

Room Tip: we were in blackbird and couldnt fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the stay we try to ensure all our guests needs are met and exceeded hope we can see you again sometime in the future to look after you both again thanks for taking the time to write a great report appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just returned from our stay in The White House with Carol and Rob, well from the minute we set foot in their home it was relaxed, warm cosy and very friendly. We had tea and home made shortbread, delicious. We had cake left in the room. Our room(Blackbird) was first class, huge bed so comfy, it was my birthday so I had nice bottle of rose and chocolates left on the bed. Its nice to stay somewhere that is welcoming, and friendly. Breakfasts are gorgeous, plenty of choice and everything is made while you are enjoying your tea/coffee or fresh fruits, the choice is endless. We had a laugh with Carol and Rob and the welcome is second to none. Had cuddles with Tom the cat and looking forward to returning very soon. First class hosts, thank you for a pleasant stay. Matt & Sarah

Room Tip: All rooms are same very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello you two still recovering from all the talking we did the flowers have bloomed lovely thanks and thanks for the great review we will be very disappointed if we don't see you again. carol and rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean modern bed and breakfast with underfloor heating, LCD televisions, i-pod docks, quality freshly cooked organic breakfasts at any time you like? We don't do rules and regulations here at the White House; arrive when you like, leave when you like. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the fresh homemade cakes when you get back from your day's activities! We try to make your stay cool - come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Poole
The White House Bed And Breakfast
The White House Bed & Breakfast Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.