We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but on the topey side of prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jenkins & Sons

Jenkins & Sons
Penn Hill Avenue, Poole BH13, England
01202 746604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 301 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: A 1920's fishmongers and butchers selling the finest local meat and fish, cooked over charcoal and served with epic British craft beers.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good but on the topey side of prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Came across this newly opened place by chance on a week visiting friends, did pop in before in its old guise as a bar over the years wen it was Bank's
Its defo picked up on the London vibe of wood/tile walls in the way of Sputino.
1.30 midweek lunchtime we opted for mackerel salad. Pretty good, fresh makerel, could have been a slightly larger portion for the price, and the bread that came with it wasnt the greatest but very tasty. Quite high prices for the food but I guess people seem to be happy to pay London high end prices down here. The ales on the bar were great being Dark Star nice to see something other than Ringwood around the area, although not happy to pay the most I have ever paid for a pint of the stuff even compared to central London! Good vibe , good food I hope it does well but maybe lowers prices a bit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    14
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality throughout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor about it being expensive and noisy, I wondered whether to bother. Well, I am glad I did, I thought the decor was very welcoming with nice colourful touches of dried chillies and hops hanging from the ceiling etc and a lovely open view of the kitchen.

The welcome was very friendly, much better than in a lot of places locally and it seemed genuinely so rather than a 'painted on' smile. The menu was interesting and we opted for a nice mackerel dish which was clean and fresh and lovely flavours. We both opted for a glass of Chablis each too which was one of the best that I have had for a while. Okay, its not the cheapest glass of wine to have but how often do you get it offered by the glass? There was a small, simple selection of around 7 reds, 7 whites but all by the glass which I thought was great, starting at around £16 per bottle I think. People may think that the wine is expensive but if you actually READ the list, you realise there is something for everyone.

Well done and keep it up

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark c, Owner at Jenkins & Sons, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks so much for being positive before we hang our heads in shame. We're super excited and proud of Jenkins & Sons and it's great you appreciated it. Please tell the world and we'll love you for it ;). All the best. Mark. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“to loud!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a great place, looks fantastic, really well fitted out gorgeous lighting... but the music levels seem set for the staff rather than than than drinkers and diners....shame.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark c, Manager at Jenkins & Sons, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi. Argh so many good points ruined by the sound. We're so sorry. If you ever feel it's a little loud please just speak with the duty manager or send me a quick email from your smart phone mark@JenkinsSons.com and we'll get on the case. We are having some work done to soften the acoustics. Some of the original tiled features lead to some reverberating but we are on the case. Hope you'll come back in the day time for a quite and relaxing coffee, we can even turn the music off for you ;). All the best. Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“London Prices in Penn Hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast with friends, just after it opened.
Food was average, expensive and service slow, despite being not busy.
Had a look at evening menus that looked interesting, but again expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark c, Owner at Jenkins & Sons, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
HI,

Many thanks for your feedback. Apologies you found us a little slow just after we opened. Suspect we were just getting the hang of the place. Do check out the new menus online too. Www.JenkinsSons.com. Hopefully you'll find something suitable. We charge the same at all our venues depending on the quality of the item you are ordering. Prices for food start at around £4 and go up to around £28 for a massive steak. A burger is a tenner, and brekkie starts at £4. A bit like the wine, something for everyone we hope. Our prices are actually the same in Boscombe, and that's not mega posh ;). If you'd like to chat through our pricing I'd be happy to meet for a coffee. We do buy from people, rather than companies, and generally local so we may perhaps be £1 more than the chains.

Hope you'll return and keep us posted. Mark@JenkinsSons.com. All the best ;) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Came here on my birthday for lunch in August, thought popping in during September would be a safe bet. Wrong! already standards are slipping. Serving cheap supermarket sandwich filling smoked salmon on a fish platter is simply not acceptable. If you're serving cheap food, charge cheap prices. I'd rather pay £50 for something small and amazing than be thoroughly annoyed at ending served something far worse than I would've been prepared to serve my friends at home for a lot less money.

Shan't be returning. Makes me begin to question the rest of the urban empire!

Such a shame.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark c, Owner at Jenkins & Sons, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Neesie.

Many thanks for your feedback. Really sorry you did not enjoy the salmon. Did you let the manager know at the time? They would have made things up to you. Rest assured standards will not slip. We're too proud and too in love with food and drink and always try to purchase great food and drink from amazing people across all sites.

We buy our fish from Simon, nice guy, hard worker, second generation fishmonger with his own boats at mudeford. The salmon however is wild farmed in Scotland, tricky issue good sustainable salmon but I won't bore you here. But Simon sources if for us and generally lovely. We've had some super feedback on that dish but again ever any problems just tell us.

Thanks again.

All the best mark@JenkinsSons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jenkins & Sons also viewed

 
Poole, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Jenkins & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenkins & Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.