We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The friendly bar at the Blue Boar, Poole

The friendly bar at the Blue Boar, Poole
Dear Hay Lane, Poole, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 301 Restaurants in Poole
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited the Blue Boar whilst on holiday in Poole with my wife, our two children and their grandparents.

Great looking pub with great drinks and good old pub grub and a nice atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and helpful too. Great value meals like fish and chips, stone baked pizza and pies, two for £10!

Although children are made welcome there is no section of the menu for them. However, my two found something to eat.

Well worth a visit if you are in Poole.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mala, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Love this traditional pub with excellent home cooked food. Lasagne especially good or maybe it's the home made steak n kidney pud!!
Don't be put off by the old trad look inside the food is way above ypur first impression. Caudal, friendly and good value.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A big big thank you to all the staff at The Blue Boar. We held our daughters wedding reception there after her marriage at The Guild Hall. They decorated the upstairs room beautifully for the reception and the food was superb. We held the evening disco in the cellar bar with a cold buffet which again was plentiful and set out beautifully. We cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ideal for a wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We held our wedding reception here after getting married in the guildhall and would recommend it to anyone. From day one Aime made everything so easy to organise. The room was perfect and we had a big party at the wedding. The food was perfect and the room looked beautiful. Everyone at the blue boar takes pride in ensuring that a wedding reception is perfect. Bar service was great and the outside seating is great.

All of our guests loved the setting and will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten in this pub many times at lunchtime and the food has always been excellent, well cooked and reasonably priced. There is a good choice of ales on the pumps. The owners and staff are very friendly and the place is very relaxed with a good choice of daily newspapers to read. In the winter they have a lovely log fire which adds to the homely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The friendly bar at the Blue Boar, Poole also viewed

 

Been to The friendly bar at the Blue Boar, Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The friendly bar at the Blue Boar, Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.