We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and tunes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circo Lounge

Circo Lounge
66 Poole Road | Westbourne, Poole BH4 9DZ, England
+44 1202 540823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 280 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Circo Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food and tunes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I like this place, good burgers and food selection. A variety of different people, drinks and experiences! The outside space is good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogan L, General Manager at Circo Lounge, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank for your time writing your review about Circo. It's great to hear that you enjoy visiting Circo, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    13
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Never enough staff and food service unbearable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I am writing this as a message to the managers of Loungers and the Circo Lounge in Westbourne.

Please can you employ enough staff to manage the food service. Perhaps you don't know how bad the service can be?

We often pass by the Circo Lounge due to the welcome we get - 'there's a 30 minute wait for food'.

The staff are very nice when it's quiet, when it's not they avoid eye contact and focus on making coffees and other less confrontational roles.

It's a real shame and I don't think you are maximising your business potential. A real Pity. Last time we went to Pizza Express and received a great service ;-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogan L, General Manager at Circo Lounge, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and apologies that we didn't deliver the usual high standard of service you would expect.

All of our food is cooked fresh and to order. We aim to deliver this in less than 20minutes but at peak times this can be slightly longer. So apologies if you experienced this. We always endeavour to let our guests know if they may have to wait a little longer than expected.

We are always looking to improve the dining experience here at Circo Lounge.

I would also like to speak to you in person about your visits if you could spare the time:Circo@thelounges.co.uk, or on 01202 540823

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been a couple of times now for lunch both times having tapas to share. The food is good quality and I have never had to wait long. The decor is trendy and it has a very relaxed vibe. It's suitable for families too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogan L, General Manager at Circo Lounge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write Circo Lounge a review.
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed all your Lounging experiences with us and we hope you have many more..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another lovely lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Happy friendly staff helped to make this a pleasant visit. I had a very enjoyable vegetable curry.
Busy atmosphere, nice music, quick service.
Thanks for a good eating experience.
Clean loos, free Wi-Fi, what more could you want.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogan L, General Manager at Circo Lounge, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit! The sweet potato curry is one of my favourites!
Hope to see you again soon,
Rogan Lamont - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Food has gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

When Circo first opened, the food was very good. However it has gradually gone downhill and the meals I have had over the last 6 months or so have been absolutely dreadful,
I used to love their eggs benedict with smoked salmon but it has gone from a perfectly cooked soft poached egg with hot and plentiful hollandaise sauce, to a rock hard, rubbery stone cold poached egg and a lump of congealed cold hollandaise sauce.
Family and friends I have eaten here with, all share the same view.
The service is friendly but can be very slow.
It is always busy in Circo which I think is probably due to the atmosphere as opposed to the food quality. I would recommend this place for a drink but definitely not somewhere to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogan L, General Manager at Circo Lounge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and apologies that we haven't delivered the usual high standard of food you would expect.
I will definitely be using the points raised to share with team and provide extra training. The lounge eggs with salmon is one of the most popular choices and anything we can do to improve on them we will. I would also very much like to speak to you in person about your disappointing visits if you could spare the time:
Circo@thelounges.co.uk, or on 01202 540823

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circo Lounge also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Circo Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circo Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.