We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a chain restaurant ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chiquito - Poole

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chiquito - Poole
18 Tower Park, Poole BH12 4NY, England
01202 711680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 301 Restaurants in Poole
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average for a chain restaurant ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Been here a few times, food always hot and tasty.
Staff have always been good, but not spectacular, usually forget something, like the glass of water I asked for 3 times on last visit!
Waiting times to be seated can vary depending on events going on in the area, especially on the cheap cinema nights it gets extremely busy! Expect waits of over an hour.
Prices are ok, but for a chain maybe a little expensive.
All in all, as long as you realise it is a chain restaurant and that is the experience you will get, then it is a nice place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    11
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Seriously awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I love Mexican food but struggled with this ! No skill involved here. warm soggy nappy comes to mind.
Far to expensive for this totally bland rubbish. If you've just come out of the cinema and feel hungry just keep walking to the car...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waited over an hour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

When we went in we had no reservation, but were seen to and sat down within 5 minutes so were very happy.

The waitress was very nice and went through the menu with us as we have never eaten there before. We were offered a drink which we order but then stated we'd have cocktails with food too! Off to a great start we thought :)

After waiting 15 mins for our soft drinks and another 10 to order food we weren't very happy as it wasn't busy at all.

After ordering we started to look at cocktails and pick after a little while of choosing. We waited and waited . . . . . and waited.

After 1 hour our food came just as we were ready to walk out. The food was nice but not great. And not worth the price. We had still not been offered to take cocktail order so gave up.

Although we had planned for cocktails, main meal, dessert and coffee we chose to leave straight after our main meal and asked for the bill.

We waited another 20 mins for them to collect the bill and my other half went to the bar to pay.

We left very disappointed as we had really been looking forward to it. As this was our first visit we are sad to say we won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better off going to Burger King”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to taste the food because as the time spent waiting for it approached the hour mark we decided to leave. We promptly went to Burger King and when the drive through staff apologised for the 2 mins wait we both fell in stitches. Thank you Burger King!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, Dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quick, friendly, but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Chiquito has a lot going for it - but the value isn't really there

Maybe a 3 / 5 is harsh - possibly needs to be a 3.5 / 5.

Positives:
- Friendly and attentive service
- Tangy food
- Pleasant environment
- Gave our 3 year old a 'kids pack' automatically which kept him busy until the food arrived

Negatives:
- Bordering on expensive
- My partner's chilli portion size was very poor (good thing she's small, but I missed out on leftovers!)
- Child's meal veg was microwaved to within an inch of its life..

Again, 3 / 5 was harsh, but it wasn't a 'very good' experience, it was 'ok' to 'good'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Poole also viewed

 

Been to Chiquito - Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiquito - Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.