We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What could be better on a sunny day than a tasty meal and walk?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Deep Cafe

South Deep Cafe
Parkstone Bay Marina, Poole, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Poole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What could be better on a sunny day than a tasty meal and walk?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

South deep offers a great location, particularly after a dog walk at white cliff. If the sun is shining then the decked area and patio are a lovely place to relax. The menu is interesting - I recommend the burger! The food is always good quality and they also offer specials. My only criticism is that when I have asked for a slight variation from the menu they were not keen to alter their dishes; however I would certainly recommend a trip to south deep for breakfast, a snack, coffee or a meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our first disappointment in 6 years...has the Chef changed??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having been recommended this great little gem 6 years ago, we have continually enjoyed the splendid quality food and surroundings - both day and evening. As a surprise birthday gathering for my wife last Friday, I booked a table for 6 of us. First let-down in 6 years....no Vegetarian option! Soup and a baguette was suggested by the waitress - which was shocking. A different waitress then suggested another option - the hot cheese dish. Our Vegetarian guest tucked in and soon found ham mixed into the cheese! Awful. Not sure what has happened to our favourite local restaurant but I sincerely hope they fix things promptly. Doubt our friends will go back. Such a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Super service location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hide away, perfect for a quick snack drink or meal, well worth a visit , how annoying you have to write 100 words

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab location, great price but menu lacked something”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have eaten here before admittedly sometime back and think it has been taken over by a new chef. I don't live in the area so went with family. Was able to get a table on a Saturday and we were not at all rushed.

For a seaside restaurant I would expect a seafoody type menu but there was a real lack of fish on the menu but a Belgian feel due to the Belgian chef. I really really struggled to find something I wanted to eat and I eat pretty much everything! In the end what I had was very good but I had really fancied something a lot healthier (such as fish!).

Service was good and the price was excellent. I paid just over £50 for two courses plus a bottle of wine and a pudding split between two . I'm a real dessert person and there was not a dessert I fancied - I first for me. The dessert we had was nice but was obviously something they had frozen and sliced off.

The tables were minute. Not enough space for a bottle of wine - they really need some of those bottle holders. We had a main course to split so it was ridiculous at one point with literally balancing things on top of others.

All in all would definitely recommend for the price and location. Just don't expect fish!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If ever we're not sure where to go for breakfast, lunch or just a snack, South Deep always fits the bill. The food is surprisingly good. It can get very busy so occasionally the service is a little slow. The setting is great and it generally has a feelgood factor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Deep Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Deep Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Deep Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.