We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for a relaxing outdoor drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Salterns Harbourside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Poole
Buxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a relaxing outdoor drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We called in for drinks and a snack one evening and opted to sit in the garden overlooking the marina.The setting was worth it, with panoramic views, and the sun was just beginning to set so it was a good place to be. The bar staff were quite busy so we had to wait a while but it didn't really matter. With reasonably priced food and drink this place offers a nice spot for a relaxed drink overlooking the marina and Poole Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    29
    26
    25
See reviews for
29
71
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location, great breakfast. Hotel in need of modernisation. Bed was extremely uncomfortable did not get much sleep at all, neither did my partner. Hotel staff said there was nothing they could do and apologised.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

On arrival we were most impressed with our room (103). It was a great deal larger than expected and had windows on 2 sides with fantastic views of the marina and Poole Bay.
We then noticed that the bathroom was minus soap. The receptionist apologized and said she couldn’t find any. The following morning the chambermaid also apologized and gave the excuse that a delivery had not arrived. We found it hard to swallow that it should take 24 hrs or so just to provide an item that should be automatic in any room.
In the days following, we then found that the body wash didn’t get replaced: small but important details.
Having been impressed with the views and the restaurant and the large room, our impressions then changed dramatically when around 9pm the first night, the most horrendous noises came through from the rooms above. Clearly the building suffers bad sound insulation and possibly poor construction as we could hear every thump and floor grindings from the inhabitants of the room above. The thumping/running noises which sounded like a herd of animals (possibly dogs?) or very active youngsters carried on for over an hour. The same thing happened each night and again 6.30 to 8.30 in the mornings. Although that first evening was the worst for such noises, we were continually plagued with repeat noises for the whole of our stay.
Added to the noises from above were the inefficient door closers. All of the rooms appeared to posses heavy slamming doors; clearly the door closing devices didn’t work. We reported the problem with the noises from the upstairs rooms; however the only action the receptionist took was to check whether the upper rooms had been occupied and provide a belated apology. The room would have been great but for the noises; it will be the luck of the draw if future guests book the room when no one is in the upper rooms.
Service from the staff was very varied and we seemed to see different people at each meal. In general we felt that the staff were not trained properly and some of them were downright miserable. The first night’s meal was actually very good and quite a surprise. In fact our opinion is that the food side was spot on. It was fast, tasty and well presented. We would like to applaud the chef on his culinary efforts but the food is sadly let down by the serving staff. The restaurant manager seemed efficient but lacked personality; the first night’s waiter did at least check to see what additional drinks were needed. The breakfast staff left us waiting for ages before we asked could we order. They had served others first who entered after us. The very young waiter was clearly untrained as he reached over my plate to supply butter we ordered. The staff seemed in their own world and quite indifferent to us as guests. The delay in service occurred again the next morning when my wife was left waiting for over 20 minutes before even her order was taken. The impersonal blonde had a rather strange attitude regarding this and the following morning had the cheek to say ‘you haven’t had to wait 20 minutes today then’.
Our Sunday lunch snack was served to us on the outside garden table by a blonde girl who looked as though she was carrying the world’s troubles on her shoulders; she looked very miserable and made no attempt to be pleasant. Also I find it odd that guests are expected to walk into the bar to make their food and drink order. The blonde girl constantly walks in and out of the bar; would it be so difficult for her to take orders? Who knows, they could actually raise turnover by getting her and her colleagues to do a bit of selling and suggest desserts and further drinks etc.

The Sunday evening waitress (a further change of face) seemed dismayed that we hadn’t booked a table and stuffed us into a table around the corner. There were at least 3 to 4 tables with decent sea views which I noticed never got occupied for all the time we were in the restaurant. This waitress was however quite efficient and carried out her tasks well.
I believe that the staff in businesses like this one follow the example set by the management. Clearly there is a lack of drive and customer service training. With those matters put into the right shape and the sound insulation issues resolved, this could be a first class hotel, given its position and wonderful views.

Room Tip: Room 103 is great but when booking ask if rooms above will be occupied by children or pets due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Saltern hotel for 4 nights and found the hotel staff were very friendly and our room (106) was very spacious and overlooked the car park, however there was also a very nice view of part of the marina. The bar and restaurant overlooked the marina and Poole bay which were fantastic views. We hadn't planned to eat every night at the hotel, however the quality and value of the food plus the views, made it an irresistible choice. The hotel itself is in a very central location for discovering local attractions. We were also very pleased it was dog friendly. We will be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

And that is also the word to describe the blonde on reception ! stopped off at this family hotel on the way through Poole . A very warm welcome , the right balance between friendly and professional . We had a drink on the marina ( great service, very reasonable. ) , followed by a walk along to see all the boats then came back to have dinner . An excellent menu it was hard to choose ! What we went for was delicious and served beautifully . Our room was comfortable and and attractive , with stunning harbour side views . After breakfast ( again , very good ) , we were given a lovely send off by Carrie on reception who had made us feel very welcome and comfortable . Another special mention must go to two of the chamber maids ( manuella??) , who were so polite and hard working . We highly recommend this wonderful hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a few days at hotel and it was fabulous, location was fantastic, room 102 and 103 highly recommended,, keep up the good work..also watched a storm approach from sea which was brill..keep up the great work

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I got married at the salterns on the 20th July 2013. The day was perfect in everyway the organisers did very well at ensuring everything was set out as we wanted and all food was correct and hot. It was also great that the sun was shining it added that extra wow factor. The dj was fab and played all current music. We also had a photo booth that added more fun to our evening everyone loved this. All rooms nice for guests. If you are thinking of getting married here I would truly recommend it as the setting is gorgeous, staff nice. Perfect in everyway. We even had everyone say it was the best wedding. Lovely memories that will stay with us forever thank you Nathan and Sian xxxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salterns Harbourside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.