We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young Curators Rules!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden

Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden
4 High Street, Poole BH15 1BW, England
01202 262 600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 68 things to do in Poole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Poole Museum discover the colourful history of this ancient port town and its people, and learn about the amazing environment of Poole Harbour, on four floors of art, archaeology and social history. The recently extended and re-displayed museum (all year, except Mons in Winter)has a terrace with stunning harbour views, and activities for all. Medieval Scaplen's Court Museum is open Aug and its tranquil herb garden May - Sept afternoons. ALL FREE.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Young Curators Rules!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Been going to Young Curators for a little while and I've been to Poole Museum quite a few times. I really enjoy going as there's lots to see and lots to learn about. I highly reccommend that you visit and take part in Take Over Days, Young Curators and the other organised activites!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    36
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were part of a tour of Old Poole by a Poole Museum guide. It could have been much better and far more interesting had we been able to hear the Tour Guide’s narrative, and had he taken us to some of the old back streets and shown us more historic buildings instead of telling anecdotes of his life. I think we will get a tourist map and do the trail ourselves next time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent local museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This meuseum is free, new and for a small local museum, excelent. Just the place to go if it is raining, which is was when we visited

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice museum and relaxing garden.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The museum is free, as is the garden.

The museum houses some interesting pieces. I like the log boat. Obviously there's much about maritime history, however their are a few oddities too.

Scaplen's court garden is small but pretty and a bit of an oasis behind the bustle of Poole Quay. It even sells some plants cheaply.

Both places are well worth a visit, especially if keeping costs down on your holidays.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire u.k.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Poole Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just simply excellent!!!!! But, once again, I know I keep going on about it, but why? why? why? charge SO much for food and drink £3.90 for a Latte is not acceptable, having said that a lovely place to explore

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museum_poole, Public Relations Manager at Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Such a wonderful review. Unfortunately, I think this must be a review for another Museum as we don't have a cafe at the moment. Watch this space though, a cafe at Poole Museum with views across the harbour will be opening soon. I do hope you'll make a visit Poole Museum and enjoy it as much as much as you did this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden also viewed

 

Been to Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.