We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond call of duty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vin Poole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service beyond call of duty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I got a great deal on a late booking. Room was large, very well appointed. Hotel welcoming, warm and full of character. Breakfast was first rate. Having left some clothes in a cupboard the staff packaged them up and posted them to my home at minimal charge - faultless service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    122
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
28
263
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night here and had a fantastic evening. The room was a standard room, but absolutely beautiful and bathroom was equally.
We dined in the restaurant and the food was amazing. What really stood out was the service throughout. Check in, at the bar, restaurant and morning breakfast - check out. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We ate at the restaurant for Boxing Day meal and had a lovely experience throughout. We had a : course meal and food was delicious and well presented. Cocktails were tasty and made by an experienced mixologist, very professional and knew how to whip up a cocktail off the menu. Staff were attentive and genuine, always a plus! The atmosphere really made the night, low lighting, candlelit restaurant, Christmas tree by the bar, lounging chairs and sofas and no one pushed you to rush anywhere. Décor was homely (we could've fallen asleep on the sofa like it was a home on Christmas Day). By the way the Sommelier knows his stuff (obviously) if you get a chance to catch him for an opinion on accompanying wine - do it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with work for 1 night. The receptionists were extremely helpful and pleasant and personally took me and my colleagues to our rooms. The room was large with the most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever stayed in. All the mod cons in the room including a Nespresso coffee machine as well as a kettle and a myriad of teabags.
We had our Christmas meal here and the food was delicious, and the service exceptional for the 24 people in our party. The drinks were quite pricey but only what you would expect for a hotel.
The breakfast was gorgeous and as per another review I can also recommend the eggs Benedict.
A lovely hotel in a nice location, definitely worth treating yourself to a night away.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel used to be the Mansion House. Since it has changed hands I think the quality is not as good. It used to be a special place to go and you could also join as a member. Now they have altered the building considerable and spoilt the atmosphere. There are no carpets in the restaurant and therefore is quite noisy, you sit in rows and the meal was over too quick. The food was excellent but spoilt by sitting so close to other diners and having to shout at each other due to the noise.
I am sorry to be negative about this but I remember it as it was before all the changes, maybe if you did not remember how it was before you may find it good. There is now an outside garden to sit and have a drink or a meal. Food wise 4 star

Room Tip: I have never stayed at the hotel we have only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for a night in one of their suites - beautiful room, gorgeous roll top bath and very comfy bed. Everything you could want (although couldn't find an iPod docking station). We ate in the restaurant which felt like they had crammed as many people as possible into, not much space between tables so it didn't have a feeling of an intimate dining experience hence 4 not 5 stars. However a lovely night away and I would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just got home from spending a night in the most comfortable bed. We were there for a small party in one of the function rooms, it was a wonderful night, but the drinks are sooo expensive. There's a massive selection, which is great if you've heard of any of them! That said the staff are very knowledgable about all of the spirits, wines, lagers and ales. Our room was in the old part of the hotel with a lot of stairs up & down to get to it (a challenge when a tiny bit tipsy!), the room was clean, well stocked mini bar, lovely bathroom, huge bed. If you've got the ££ it would be well spent here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#3 Business Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.