We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin Poole to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin Poole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weekend escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We experienced a truly exceptional standard of service during our stay at HdV Poole. The staff went out of their way to respond to our every request. Whilst we were only there one night, we were made to feel as if our stay was important. Especially impressive was the chef's impromptu aperitif platter - as was the fact that the waiting staff actually went to the trouble of asking the right questions. Really nothing to fault, everything to praise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    161
    63
    20
    5
See reviews for
43
381
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked two nights to stay in July over a Saturday and Sunday night. After seeing the price we expected standards to meet this extravagance. It didn't. The room was small, the bathroom had a shower over the bath (when you're paying in excess for £200 a night, you expect a seperate shower), we booked a room with a terrace/balcony, not that we could sit and enjoy it as it was overlooked by the flats opposite, there was no attempt to make it private. We both expected a certain standard, and it fell far short of that, my husband described it as "holiday inn-esque". And there were add-ons everywhere. Our £260 a night didn't include a cooked breakfast, just a continental, if we wanted cooked it would be an extra £3 each. Signs on the bottle of wine in the room with the price, nothing free in the mini bar (we regularly stay in hotels of this price bracket, and they usually provide you with a few juices and at least some water in the mini bar included). You had to pay to park your car. We didn't opt for the cooked breakfast as we were less than pleased about having to pay out of principle. The continental breakfast was very nice and sitting on the terrace out the back of the hotel in the sun was nice. But we were so disappointed with our room and felt "ripped off" that we requested to cancel the second night, which the staff did oblige to. Even so, I did feel ripped off for what we got. I wouldn't bother returning at those prices. The only good thing was the bed was comfy and the location was very central.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good room, good location, great food. The hotel is small enough that the staff quickly got to know us, were interested and interesting, and were able to give us pointers as to what to do and see locally. Really very good all round.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Set within a beautiful Georgian mansion, this Hotel du Vin provides everything you'd expect from this boutique chain. It's friendly, stylish, incredibly comfortable and the best bit... The delicious HDV cooked breakfast. Can't wait to revisit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I needed to contact the hotel to ask a specific question about the beds and which level of room would provide what we required before we booked. It appears to be impossible to phone them directly, all enquiries go through their 10p per minute call centre. After 2 attempts (there is a limit to how long I'll believe the "one of our advisors will be with you as soon as possible" recorded message) I sent an email. I'm still waiting for a reply other than the automatic acknowledgement.

I'm sure the hotel would have been lovely if I'd had several days to make the booking, although the excessive £10 per day parking and reviews mentioning charges for the biscuits provided with tea and coffee did make me hesitate. We've now booked elsewhere, where my enquiry was answered immediately by a very friendly gentleman who then asked if there was any more information they could provide and said they were looking forward to seeing us - Now THAT is customer service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at The Hotel du Vin, a lovely hotel very well located in the 'old' part of the town near to the harbour front, restaurants, bars etc. A great hotel with warm, friendly and efficient staff.. nothing is too much trouble here. Room very well appointed, food excellent (especially the breakfast - fresh honeycomb on newly baked French bread - delicious!!). This is the second hotel in the HDV chain that we have stayed in and would certainly return as there is so much to see and do in the area. Caution, better not to try the hotel car park, a tight squeeze and not suited to large cars, but the public car park next door and with direct access to hotel is fine, with more room (and the same price).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Away for my wifes birthday and we could not have been more pleased. We have stayed here before and we will stay here again. All staff are amazing and the food is superb. You absolutely get what you pay for here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.