We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and customer care in a beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin Poole to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin Poole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Poole
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and customer care in a beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here with family as part of a celebration. We were a mixed group aged 2 to 60 with lots of different requirements including needing a ground floor room for one couple and a cot for another.

All of our requirements were catered for and nothing was too much trouble. Small touches like providing complimentary sandwiches for my 2 year old niece made things run smoothly.

The rooms were not only comfortable but incredibly high spec with comfy beds and very modern bathroom facilities. There were all the usual mod cons including WiFi, flat screen TV and coffee machine.

We had drinks in the bar on the Saturday night and the staff were exceptional. We had a lot of advice on different cocktails and beers and the staff were exceptionally knowledgable.

There was no room left in the hotel car park, but staff valeted the car for us so we didn't have to worry about circling Poole looking for a space. There was no hurry for us to take the car back so we left it there after we had checked out so we could walk around the Quay.

I know it is not cheap, but I have paid this price in other hotels and not had such a good stay. It is well worth the money, especially for a treat or a break as a couple.

Lovely stay, beautiful rooms, exceptional service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    144
    52
    17
    4
See reviews for
39
322
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel location is very good, in a quiet street in the center of the old town. The hotel is very well decorated, the room was fantastic, huge and very pleasant. The shower was superb! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was very nice. It was a really good experience.

Room Tip: I've got the "La Grande Dame" room and it was huge; it even had a "vintage"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Positives: Two night stay in a deluxe room, great bed, nespresso and furnishings. Torres by name, not much bull though. Quaint and quirky and pricey but are all du Vin's.

Negatives: Single glazed bay window with Bath in 'du vin' pride of place, t'was the only source of daylight so can you bath in daylight and not be arrested?, view, such as it was (street level pavement) was obscured by the bath position and net curtains. Room was noisy with general comings and goings to the acess door next to room in the mornings and late eve rumbling of cars on the cobbles and cars. From Fire safetly notice it appears the hotels staff canteen was directly behind the bed headboard, and the early morning wake up calls of coffee swilling staff with noisy nespresso machine a prevalent memory.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed there over a Saturday night when looking for somewhere to escape and get some adult time at the weekend!! Could not fault the staff for their excellent customer service- did the room, B&B and dinner for two package - hotel room great, fabulous bathroom and bed was reaaally comfortable !! but best of all was the great food and drink. We had a wonderful waitress, Anna,in the bistro who served us and would highly recommend the rump steak dish and hake paella! Fabulous. Hotel du vin does it again. Only one point is why don't they provide dimmer switches in the bathrooms when you use their fabulous free standing baths and want to enjoy a glass of wine without either sitting completely in the dark or completely in bright light! And our ground floor room was below some really squeaky floorboards of the room above so when they got up at 7.30 am on Sunday morning, so did we. But, would visit again with a room on the first floor!. Thank you

Room Tip: for optimum sleep, get an upstairs room, or you'll have early risers sqeaking floorboards above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for 1 night as we were attending a concert in the Lighthouse theatre. All I can say is that as a regular traveller, I wish all hotels could be like the Hotel du Vin - attentive, friendly staff, lovely room where everything had been thought of, little touches here and there which make the difference. Our room was beautifully decorated, fab coffee machine, comfortable bed, great bathroom with monsoon shower and nice toiletries

I had been expecting a possibly "yuppie" type atmosphere but not at all - there was a mix of pleasant well behaved guests of all ages.

Breakfast as expected - very good indeed with quality full English (great bacon), nice breads, yoghurt and compote etc.

We managed to get a place in the car park, but there is public parking adjacent.

Due to the timing of our concert, we ate just along the road at Fishy Fishy - recommended. As for pubs, I don't think I have seen so many in a row for some time on the quay front !

Five stars all the way for the Hotel du Vin - well done.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just returned from a two day stay . The staff are generally local people which is an unusual occourance these days. Needless to say the service was incredible and faultless with a special mention for 'Graham' in the restaurant! The food was excellent and the hotel ambiance was superb. One negative point and not in any way associated with the hotel was the incessent hounding of motorists by a hoard of speed and traffic light camera's combined with a legion of sneaky traffic warders ( yes warders) as they seemed to be our prison guards wherever we turned whilst out in the car! Their attention almost spoilt our holiday as you really could not relax for a minute whilst driving anywhere in the area. Also watch out for Number plate regognition cameras which are appearing in a number of car parks and could easily hit you with a £90 fine just for driving in/out of a hotel e.g. The Haven Hotel at Sandbanks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Smooth check in. Receptionist showed us to our room & explained various things. Assistance was offered with our luggage. Comfortable ,well appointed room, for a standard double & good quality toiletries. TV reception a little suspect.Mini bar in the room was well stocked with a good selection of drinks & quality snacks/confectionery.
We ate in the dining room where the food & service were all excellent as was the selection & quality of the morning breakfast which was cooked to order.
Our only criticisms were that we felt the drinks in the bar were somewhat overpriced ( over £7 for a bottle of cider) and the wine list although extensive was quite expensive when viewed against pricing at other similar status hotels.
Parking was also limited. Otherwise a comfortable stay in all respects.

Room Tip: There appear to be a number of other eating establisments within a short walking distance by the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Business Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.