We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside Fish and Chips Restaurant and Takeaway
Lifeboat Quay, Poole BH15 1LS, England
01202 914336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 306 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

First time of visiting this restaurant. My parents had used the take a way service which they said was very nice. Restaurant very clean, attentive staff. We all chose the lunchtime special very nice meal, well worth the price, we will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    133
    51
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best has just got Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Since our first review we have become regular weekly diners.
We have enjoyed every one of our visits and each time have been served top quality food, beautifully cooked and presented by pleasant and attentive staff.
The menu has been added to with a number of non-fish offerings which are good and well worth trying.
The restaurant attracts many people in the season and during the the quieter months. It's a popular venue for Office, Birthday, Anniversaries and Retirement parties so it may be worth booking, we have a regular booking. Even at the busiest times we have never had to wait long to order and when served the food and service remained top quality.
A year on, Linda and I still thoroughly recommend Lakeside for a good evening out that will not break the bank.
Give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Lovely location overlooking Poole harbour,excellent modern decor,smart and clean, very good service and on top of that the food is very good. I have a big appetite but made the mistake of ordering the large haddock - it was enormous!
Has an advantage over other specialist fish and chip restaurants in that they offer alternatives if you have people in your party who want something else, such as steaks plus a lot of daily specials (non fish and chips).
Highly recommeded.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy Skate with prawns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The welcome is always so inviting. The restaurant is always busy as someone did not heir homework when setting it up and there is a dish for everyone's pocket. It is beautifully clean, the staff always cheerful and the food piping hot, whatever part of the menu you choose. Me?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Read the reviews so gave it ago.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

In Poole for 1 night with a little one. Saw the review so gave the Lakeside a visit. The fidh was very nicely cooked. Very clean and friendly staff. If in Poole again and thinking of a chippy we would go straight back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Fish and Chips Restaurant and Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Fish and Chips Restaurant and Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Fish and Chips Restaurant and Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.