We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good loccation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arndale Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arndale Court to your Saves list
Arndale Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62-64 Wimborne Road, Poole BH15 2BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good loccation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here twice this year whilst in Poole on business. Good location. Rooms we had were very large and had what we needed although do agree that the beds could do with better mattresses and pillows. The best thing about this place is breakfast which is cooked to order so is always fresh. Staff pleasant enough. Got good rate through booking.com but feel this place is a tad pricey for what it is - we stayed here because it was convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
26
41
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stopped here on the way to Jersey, mainly because they allow dogs. The room was very small but the staff were pleasant enough. Had a meal in the restaurant, a little expensive but fair for the area I suppose. They seem to think that because it's an expensive area to live nearby in Sandbanks they can up the price everywhere else. Stopped on the way back as well but being Sunday the restaurant is closed so had a bar meal, big mistake! Cottage pie the size of a teacup straight out of the freezer, micro'd and served. £9.95 discusting. The wife had the masala with rice and nan Straight from Asda by the look of it. £11.50 even more discusting. Plenty of pubs around that serve better fare than this, Peters Finger is one we visited last May, wish we had gone this time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed several years ago but it has really gone downhill. Our room wasn't ready on arrival & when we eventually got in it absolutely stunk of cigarettes. We had booked 4 rooms & a table for dinner for 13 that evening, but the hotel struggled to serve us due to a party of 37 arriving at the same time - was not impressed with the service or food. Will not be coming back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

As the title suggests, we went here for a speedway meeting. So the hotel was picked for its location, and it was perfect.

there is free wifi. The rooms are decent, as was breakfast. The hotel bar is a bit of a hotel bar, so, whilst it is clean, friendly enough and acceptable, I wouldn't go out of my way to drink here, personally.

There is parking behind the hotel.

I would probably give the hotel 3.5 stars, but that's not an option, so, based on where it is and why I was staying there, they get a 4.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Booked for a 3 night stay. We had the honour of being placed in a room that had the stairs outside of it which meant you heard everyone going up and down stairs. First impressions were it was clean enough (just) although dated decor. Our window in the room had been left open for god knows how long which meant that behind the net curtains were a mass of spiders webs, a couple of spiders and nests waiting to hatch. We complained and it was cleaned up. Most of the staff at reception seemed to give the impression that they didn't care about their guests. There was one girl that was excellent but she informed us on our last day that it was also her last day as she couldn't stand all the customer complaints etc. Mattresses were of very cheap quality and very soft so didn't sleep well especially coupled with being next to the stairs. I sell bedroom furniture and mattresses for a living so can recognise bad quality mattresses in my sleep ( or lack of it). Breakfast was standard fare, nothing special but no complaints. Relatively well located (10-15minute walk to the sea/ main harbour front). I personally will not be staying there again but I guess it would be ok if you were stuck for somewhere to stay for one night. WIFI connectivity was rubbish.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked this hotel for a one night stay, while we attended a wedding locally. The location is good and the parking ample. On arrival we were greeted well, but the whole ambience and decor leave a very bad impression indeed. There is an extremely run down 'conference room' which you can't help noticing as soon as you enter with tatty furniture and furnishings and the carpet is old, stained and there is that awful sort of MDF/mock wooden finish to everything.
Our room was circa 1985. I really cannot understand why some hotels think that 1980's furnishings are still acceptable! Tea and coffee making facilities (with more than just the 1 tea bag!) were available and plenty of toiletries in the bathroom, which was useful. The bed was nasty - again 1980's style covers and a vile synthetic blanket which looked highly flammable and also made you sweat profusely all night. It was uncomfortable. We only had one bath towel to share and didn't realise until we needed to dry ourselves. If you know 2 people are sharing a double room then there's no excuse for providing just one towel. This was annoying and inconvenient in the morning. Powerful shower. Always a plus point. But the worst thing I think was the slightly overpowering and all pervading smell of sewage in our room. This was unhealthy and concerning. The breakfast was average (despite the constant availability of fruit juice, which was good) but the girl that served us was pretty surly and unfriendly to say the least. She didn't bother bringing the tea we ordered either. My husband didn't eat about 3 things on the set full breakfast option, but instead of giving him a few extra beans or another hash brown, he just ended up with a very small breakfast. That was poor customer care. When we went to check out, there were 3 staff on the desk (including the surly girl from the breakfast room) and none of them bothered to acknowledge us for about 2-3 minutes. We just stood there like lemons while they chatted about some other work matter. Also I noted that when we came to have breakfast at 9.30am we had to walk past the bar which was half full of blokes all drinking pints of beer! I know you can't stop people having a good time and relaxing if they are on a break away from home, but this is not a child friendly environment. In fact it's not great for anyone to witness at that hour of the morning. I would suggest not serving alcohol until at least lunchtime. It lowers the tone. We wouldn't stay here again, but if the hotel had a total refurb and some customer training it could be good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our son booked this hotel for us after our cross channel ferry trip was cancelled due to bad weather. He had booked a family room for my wife and myself and the two grand children, one aged 7 and the other aged 2-1/2. The room itself was comfortable with two single beds and a large double and a small bathroom. However,it was dark and dismal and in need of decorating with a slight smell of cigarette smoke. After travelling for most of the day we really needed to settle down and enjoy a good meal in the restaurant. Alas this was not to be. As we entered the almost empty restaurant one of the staff stopped us to say that "the chef is very busy tonight and we would have to wait at least half an hour, but food was available at the bar". fair enough, but food at the bar still has to be prepared by the "very busy chef"? We decided that our hunger overcame any thoughts of arguing. We ordered full meals at the bar which came within 15 minutes, (the very busy chef must have had a lull in service) but with low tables and settees, eating became a bit demanding, especially for the children. During our time in the bar several other people entered the restaurant for meals without being turned away. We can only assume that children were not welcome. Tut Tut, this is 2012!
Plus point! The receptionist very early the following morning gave me good directions to the Portsmouth Port and even printed out detailed maps for the journey - full marks to him.
The hotel seemed to be very understaffed and of the three staff we encountered one spoke very poor English. We paid £120 for the nights stay (a Monday) plus another £30 for the meals! Didn't get a breakfast as we had to be on the road for 6-15am, breakfast started at 7am.
Not impressed and definitely will not go there again.

Room Tip: Family room backs onto the car park which has an entrance door to the hotel. We could hear people en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arndale Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arndale Court

Address: 62-64 Wimborne Road, Poole BH15 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arndale Court 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arndale Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arndale Court Hotel Poole
Arndale Court Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arndale Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.