We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Poole to your Saves list
Thistle Poole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 26 October. This included the night of the great storm. The best thing about the hotel is it's location right on Poole Harbour and just a short walk from the town centre.

We had a basic room that was perfectly adequate for our short stay, the decor, facilities and bathroom were fine. We ate in the hotel on 2 nights and the menu was sufficient but on one night the service was a bit slow. The views from the dining room would be hard to better and this makes breakfast quite an event.

We found Poole itself a little disappointing with the pedestrian only High Street crammed full of charity shops, we didn't venture into the shopping mall because that is not we went away for.

If you are looking to stay in Poole then you would be hard pressed to find better than the Thistle.

Room Tip: The upgrade rooms are expensive but if the view matters it is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review Roland P.,
We are always pleased to hear that guests enjoyed our hotel and services. Please feel free to contact me for your next stay and I am looking forward welcoming you here again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    159
    101
    73
    38
See reviews for
68
227
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I went to Poole for the weekend. We have been to Thistle hotels in the past and they have generally been very good, and I was attracted to the Thistle because of the location and the view over the Harbour.
The room was nice, well presented and clean, and big enough for a two night stay. we also had a view over the harbour.
We couldn't get a table to eat in the restaurant on Friday night, but that was ok cos we had a great meal elsewhere, but because of the bad weather, we ate in the bar on Saturday night, which was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor for a better view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review Adrian G,
we are always pleased to hear that the Thistle brand is fullfilling our guests needs. All our hotels are in very great locations, be it of business or leisure.
We hope we will be able to welcome you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Still a good hotel with fantastic views of harbor. If anything breakfast has improved from the last time. If you want best views ask for a room at the restaurant end but not so close that you hear the lifts, somewhere room x06, x08, x10, where x = floor level are the best

Room Tip: If you want best views ask for a room at the restaurant end but not so close that you hear the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mikey0,
thank you for your review. We are pleased that some returning guests see the improvements we are trying to make.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stopped here as we were on an early morning ferry. Very handily placed for the port and also very close to places to eat and drink if you don't want to use the hotel facilities. We had a sandwich which was very nice but quite expensive for what it was. Room comfortable and clean and suited our purposes. Staff friendly and helpful and dealt with billing problem fairly quickly.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a particular room better than others but bear in mind that you have to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank yo ufor time writing your review, Baggie57.

We are very lucky with the location and being so close to the ferry port. We hope we will be able to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here last year and came back for more.
With Sally on reception checking us in and saying goodbye to us the next day, what a pleasant stay. The sort of friendliness you would expect in a guest house.
It is not often that you get some one so friendly on reception in a corporate hotel beyond just checking you in and wishing you a pleasant stay. Sally was wonderful and so interested in what we were doing whilst in Poole, even to see our photos the next day.
Room 101 overlooking the car park, no worries, we were not there for the view.
A very clean and comfortable room, what more do you need?
Breakfast, a wide range available, cold to cooked and more from the kitchen, best to book this ahead rather than on the day, saves you money. I asked for porridge, it came out too sweet and was remade with no fuss. The breakfast room overlooks the harbour. As we were out at a show, we did not eat there in the evening.
Ideal location, reasonable price, back again when in Poole. Just £5.00 for overnight parking.

Room Tip: You can select Harbour views when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your time writing your fantastic review, Terry W.
It is always very uplifting to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and I have passed on your comments to the rest of the team.
Please feel free to contact me directly to book your next stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in pretty dismal weather to be greeted by Sally at reception, very friendly and cheerful couldn't help us enough. The room was very clean and spacious, and the bath was great filled up in seconds. Looking forward to visiting in December.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Justin K, thank you for your great review. It is always great to hear that guests enjoyed their stay. I will pass on your kind comments to all relevant departments.
Please feel free to contact me direct for your stay in December.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've just returned from a 4 day break with my husband and uncle, who is a wheelchair user. All the staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

The food was good too and the rooms were clean and efficiently serviced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Maurice B,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased that we could be of assistance and hope to see you again soon.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next visit.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.