We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Poole to your Saves list
Thistle Poole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

If you have booked this hotel change it and stay somewhere else we booked in 24-6-2011 had to change room and this one is not much better :-( get out while you can

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    186
    116
    73
    39
See reviews for
73
260
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

was good lovely posision would stay again very friendly staff loved all things going on on te quay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

After reading some of the reviews were a bit apprehensive about our stay. As we were booked in for just the one night we went ahead anyway. The staff on reception were pleasant enough and the room we were given was not too bad and had great views overlooking the quay . Agreed with some of the previous comments that the hotel decour is a little dated but, we found the room to be clean and the bed to be large and comfortable. Wi-fi is available in the hotel but you have to buy a voucher (BT Open Zone) they didn't have any when we stayed - not a problem for me as I am BT customer and had free access with good connection. Parking is £5 extra but worth paying rather than wasting time trying to find a parking spot within walking distance and being able to avoid potential parking fines. Breakfast was self-serve buffet style and we were quite happy with the choice available. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth,Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel is in an outstanding location overlooking the Marina and beside the Quay attractions. The staff are very friendly and seek to be friendly and helpful. The hotel was built in the 70's and although the bedrooms have been update the rest of the hotel needs improvement. It has a 3* rating and that is about right. The dining room has chairs which wobble and are probably of 70's vintage. Public areas are very limited. The hotel was clean and I found that the advance purchase option was the best deal. I was there for four nights last weekend. Food was the typical buffet style I did not eat there for dinner. There are several good restaurants nearby

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The staff were friendly and efficient, though the solo receptionist was run off her feet, meaning people were kept waiting. The decor throughout is tired and scruffy - a large stain on the carpet in reception set the tone. Our room had a nice view of the harbour and beyond but the wallpaper was scuffed, bathroom needed redecoration. Lots of dust about, ring marks on furniture, bedding clean but badly presented. Our kettle didn't work and had to be changed, likewise the TV. Astonishingly we had to pay £5 to park in the hotel car park, and we were told it was first come first served - I have no idea what you would do if there was no space as there was nothing nearby. At £120 and no breakfast this was a real rip-off.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The best part of this hotel is the location. Poole harbour has numerous pubs and restaurants which make it an easy choice not to stay in the hotel. We had a mini pub crawl and lovely evening meal at Corkers restaurant then in the morning had a breakfast that was half the price and a massive plateful at the Wetherspoon pub.
Our room was clean. The bed was adequately comfortable (but not a king size) with nice pillows and fresh linen. The bathroom was as clean as you could expect and the shower was hot and very powerful, big towels as well. There was tea/coffee and an iron which we used.
Disappointed about the £5 per night car park charge.
We only needed to stay for one night and it was the first time we had been there. I would consider staying there again but would also look elsewhere but would probably be hard to beat the location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Last stayed at the Thistle Poole some months ago and found it much as many have described ... tired, grubby and not a pleasant experience. However, as this hotel is the most convenient for meeting up with old friends who live close by, for a celebration weekend, we had considered giving it another try. I notice the Thistle have responded to a number of the comments, stating they would be 'having a word with management' ... but months later, the same comments are being made by guests, so presumably, 'management' haven't been listening! Perhaps we should be looking for a different hotel for our upcoming visit. A shame, they have got a decent building at a spectacular location, all it needs is a bit of care and attention.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tthistle, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback relating to previous comments and subsequent responses.
This site is regularly reviewed and concerns raised with the onsite teams, to ensure that all service concerns are addressed with the specific departments and appropriate training is given.

Any concerns regarding product are raised with the owners of the hotel for future financial investment, where possible we have invested in the hotel including a minor reception refurbishment, outdoor furnishings, restaurant décor and furniture.

Once again thank you for your feedback for any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Mark Postlethwaite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.