We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for overall experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Wharf Poole

Banana Wharf Poole
Dolphin Quays | Poole Quay, Poole BH15 1HH, England
01202 665062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 301 Restaurants in Poole
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reading,Berks, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“excellent for overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A nice contemporary feel to this restaurant.

Food was definitely a step up from the normal chain restaurants, but would not challenge the Michelin stars and the price reflects this position in the market - not cheap but not exorbitant.

Staff were friendly, view over marina definitely adds to the experience, without being breathtaking and there were just enough people in to make it lively without in feeling cramped

So for a nice sunny day in February it made a very pleasant way to end a very pleasant trip to Poole. I am sure it would be a lot busier in season.

We would definitely go back so I hope they cope as well in the high season!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    97
    37
    18
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LOvely view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely view good service, witty banter which is a must for us.
Food was average but more than compensated for by the service

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seaview and Sunseekers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great spot for watching the day go by, having a drink or lunch/dinner.
We have been there many times. When the sun is shining sat outside, dreaming of owning one of the large gin palaces. Even the food is good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and excellent quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were greeted by very friendly staff, they were attentive throughout our meal and always spoke with a smile.

The food was excellent, the veg was cooked to perfection (firm, hot and not full of water), the portion size was very good considering the quality of food. We had a great table overlooking the harbour and all of our party really enjoyed their time at this restaurant.

Another good point were the very clean and well maintained loo's (always a good place to check for attention to detail!).

Some places charge extra for location, ingredients or kudos but you get all three here. It's not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and that always makes me feel that you get value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“xmas dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had our company xmas dinner here. There was around 40 of us. The restaurant over looks Poole Quay and is very nice modern feel about it. The food was OK. The service was not so good. My partner was served 20 minutes before me. Everyone on the table was eating at different times. The dish of veg that we had to share had gone cold by the time my main came out. The waiter said that it was because there was so many of us.

For starter I had Prawn Cocktail. That was OK. Main I had Braised Stake. This was more like beef stew and was served in a bowl. which wasn't bad. The desert was xmas pudding. The was a lump about the size if a digestive and was covered in custard.

If I had paid for the £16.50 meal myself I would feel a bit cheated but as it was on the company I don't feel so bad. Would I go back? Probably not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Wharf Poole also viewed

 

Been to Banana Wharf Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Wharf Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.