We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for The Lighthouse Complex and a walk into town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Poole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Poole to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very convenient for The Lighthouse Complex and a walk into town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were attending a gig at The Lighthouse and were staying overnight. I booked this hotel as it seemed to be close...and so it proved. It was no more than 5 minutes walk to the venue and an easy walk yo the main town centre and coast. Checking in was very easy and the staff were very helpful and attentive. The room was clean, well laid out and comfortable. The free WiFi worked well too which was important as there were a few bits of work I needed to attend to. The bathroom had a large walk in shower but no bath, this might be important to some. After the gig we got back and the bar was still open (nice) and wasn't too pricey. Breakfast was served but could have been better. There was only sausage, scrambled egg, hash brown and beans. There should have been more choice. Check out was as easy as checking in and we were also able to leave our car in the car park for a few more hours as we needed to go into town before going home. This was most welcome. I would book here again if we were going to a The Lighthouse for another event.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear KeithieW

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.
As we are only an Express our breakfast is limited, apologies if you were misinformed of this.
We are really pleased you had time to enjoy the local area and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    195
    136
    57
    31
See reviews for
131
178
19
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We found Holiday Inn Express Poole to be perfectly situated for a night visiting Lighthouse Arts Centre, which is about four minutes walk away. The service was good. The room was clean and excellent with a comfortable bed, en suite and TV. Breakfast was free - cereals, toast, sausage, scrambled eggs, beans and hash browns. We'd certainly use it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Howard S

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We are delighted that you have found our rooms clean and comfortable and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Our central location is great for exploring Poole and the surrounding areas and we are glad you enjoyed your show at the Lighthouse.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Friday 21st February, good welcome and showed our room. The room was smaller than the one we had at Cardiff Holiday Inn Express but they made the bed comfy with extra duvet on top of mattress. Bathroom clean but the towels are not bath towels but hand size only. Under the table by the bin though is what looks like blood splatter.
Breakfast basic but plenty, constantly refreshed by hard working staff, all male so far. Free wifi works well When we visit Mandy again we will use this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Olivepete,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate all feedback as they help us to improve our products and services. It was indeed pleasure to read that overall you enjoyed your stay comfortable and will stay with us again.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation in size of room and towels, especially the stain near the bin, please contact me directly if you wish to discuss your further at deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk.

We are also happy that you find free WiFi useful and also all staff was hard working, breakfast was plenty but sorry you find it basic however we follow Holiday Inn Express's standard for breakfast and serve 4 hot items in addition to continental breakfast.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express, Poole.


On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Friendly greeting on arrival and a very decent room with everything clean and shipshape. Parked car right near the entrance which was good as it was raining hard. The room was quiet and even had aircon which is pretty good in a budget hotel. The free breakfast had a very good range of items and plenty of space in the restaurant area. East fast checkout, altogether a good stay.

Room Tip: Facing the back of the hotel is probably a quieter option though there would be very little traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Nick V,

Thank you for taking time to review us on your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole. It was indeed pleasure to read your review and I am pleased that you perceived us as Great value. We are delighted that you find all clean and impeccable shape, your room met and exceeded your expectation. Your free breakfast had good choice. I all ended with efficient check out. Your feedback was shared with team they were delighted and return thanks.

All in all you had a good stay, thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express, Poole.


On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Another nice visit at the hotel, room could have been a bit cleaner (used cotton bud found in sofa). The sofa bed was not made up on arrival even though I had asked however Robert the manager rectified this straight away. Kamil was wonderful, very informative and a pleasure to chat with, nothing was too much trouble for them. One thing spoilt it was very, very rude guests who Robert dealt with very well. The staff should not have to put up with that sort of abuse but they dealt with this exceptionally. Well done lads!! Breakfast was great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Godins,

Thank you for reviewing of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole, As much as pleased I am to read that you stayed with before and will stay again I am also sorry for inconveniences you faced with your room let me assure you we have disscussed this with the relevant department and impress upon that this is not acceptable. I also personally thank you for empathising for Robert with reference to the rude Guest. Your feedback was shared with the team, Robert and Kamil were delighted and they return thanks.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

well what can I say , this hotel is better than any hotel I've been to in poole. Also we were welcomed by KAMIL what a great lad. Also ALBERT and ARUN we will be back great service by the 3 we met can't wait to return and will use this hotel every time ...WELDONE GREAT HOTEL.....

Room Tip: we had room 325 and was amazed with the room excellent. very quiet hotel *****
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Richard D,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole and are pleased to read that you reckon we are the best hotel in Poole . We are glad to hear that Kamil gave you a nice welcome along with Albert and me. We all made your stay great. We all express our gratitude.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here,excellent value for money,very clean ,good breakfast, another good holiday inn.would definatly return,when I'm travelling back to Poole, it's close proximity to shops and bars is an added bonus.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear townleyletchworth,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole and are pleased to read that you had excellent value for your money, find the hotel clean, enjoyed your breakfast. As you mention we have an envious location in Poole.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.