We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Poole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Poole to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Poole
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel near everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here on business and the staff were very helpful. Food was good in the restaurant too. Would stay again if I was here on business. I did not eat breakfast here though so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear ShortieLondon,

Dear Simon K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rohan Choudhury
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    175
    129
    51
    28
See reviews for
122
163
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel, predictable good standard of rooms and service.

Good quiet location, close to town centre (10 mins walk), great breakfast ( included in the room price), always being replenished....always a cut above the competition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Simon K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast,

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rohan Choudhury
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on business in the area.
The reception was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly.
The room itself was a little tired with the wallpaper hanging off but the bed was reasonably comfortable and it was clean.
The breakfast was a bit of a mixed bag. The continental breakfast items were fresh and good but the cooked food was absolute rubbish. Fruit juice from a machine.
This hotel served a purpose whilst working but I wouldn't rush back with my wife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Tats22,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad you mentioned our friendly staff. However, I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight here, arriving quite late and leaving straight after breakfast. Rooms nice and clean, choice of hard or soft pillows - helpfully pointed out with a card cover- decent wash room and friendly, helpful staff ...arrived too late to eat in, but the reception staff recommended and gave directions to a very good Indian restaurant nearby. Would definitely stay here again. Only loses a star because the buffet breakfast had no bacon and no fried egg (though the scrambled was very good and not cold!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Lifeboatman23

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel staff.


Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, as we are only a Holiday Inn Express we do not offer full English breakfast, just continental with a hot option, please accept my apologies if you were miss-informed of this.


We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few days over Easter , we were greeted by friendly helpful staff , although our rooms were not ready it only took a couple of minutes for them to sort it out and gave us other rooms. The rooms were spotlessly clean and I think maybe fairly resently redecorated , unfortunately the heating did not work but we had a fan heater which too be honest was better than the normal heating as it stayed at a Constance heat, breakfast was fine normal buffet style . Was really impressed with the stay green card to hang on doors at night if you were happy not to have your room clean which in return you received free drink at the bar something we have never had in one of the expresses before ,but although we did as they asked and put it out they still cleaned the room but still a very good idea when it works .
Would def stay here again and recommend it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear briarBath

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel staff.
We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.
We have recently had our engineers out to service the hot water and heating issues and all problems are being dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were at a wedding that was held about 6 miles from this hotel and the room was paid for by very kind friends who also arranged transport for us so that we were both able to enjoy a celebratory drink. The room was good and spacious although there was only a shower in our room and my husband does like a bath. Just a personal preference thing. Breakfast was included and was adequate although it did feel a little bit like a school canteen the food was good. Hot food was not cooked to order but was kept hot and seemed to be filled up frequently. The croissants were delicious. Ideal for a short stay and for those wanting to be in the centre of Poole an ideal location

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear BusDriversWillTravel

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel staff.
We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night. Plenty of free parking which is good, rooms were clean but basic but you can't use the heater / air-con while sleeping as its so loud! Bed was quite comfy but the downstairs area was not inviting to use in the evening and the breakfast was really bad. There was not very much choice and the quality of the hot food was very poor. Hotel is located a short walk from the town centre / old town. Would not stay here again if I was in the area and felt it was a budget hotel but the rates did not reflect this!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Twigs31
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole.
Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, as we are only a Holiday Inn Express we do not offer full English breakfast, just continental with a hot option, please accept my apologies if you were miss-informed of this.
We have recently had our engineers out to service the hot water and heating issues and all problems are being dealt with, we are sorry if this disrupted your stay with us in any way.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Poole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.