We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, coffee shop service needs a shake up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Compton Acres

Compton Acres
164 Canford Cliffs Road, Poole BH13 7ES, England
44(0)1202 700778
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Attractions in Poole
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great potential, coffee shop service needs a shake up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have visited here a few times and whilst the coffee and cakes (when you eventually get served) are good they are expensive. The cafe itself has little alcoves so you can get away from big open areas and the shop staff are excellent. Have not visited the gardens yet.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    95
    20
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“attractive location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

interested but small gardens, slightly expensive for what there is, but we are glad we visited. sad memorial to previous owners son who was killed in 1942 serving with the RAF, aged just 20.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Divided into a number of themes, it is worth spending a day here if you are interested in gardens. The Gardeners are conscientious and so the place is well maintained. I loved the oriental garden, a real place to relax and contemplate. Please support them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very poor value for money. Not great. Would not go back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went here expecting great things given the reviews on here, but was thoroughly disappointed. The place is absolutely tiny - we were going really really slowly and still went through everything in exactly an hour.

At this time of year (late November) there is nothing much to see and nothing in bloom and it's pretty miserable. The red tree in the japanese garden was nice, but that was pretty much it really. All of the water features were switched off - none of them had any running water and many were bone dry. They shouldn't charge anything if they can't be bothered to switch them on for visitors. We were also shocked that people's flats and windows are practically in the gardens - very strange and ruins the view and feel of the place. This place is totally overrated and I wouldn't recommend wasting money going here. As gardens go, it's the worst I've ever been to in any country, not just in the UK.

Also - I was shocked to find that there is no shop selling plants or similar in the gardens - the shop was full of Christmas tat and had nothing to do with plants, gardens or flowers. It's very disappointing as I thought there would at least be some indoor plants and flowers to look at even if not outside. There are no glasshouses here or anything to keep you entertained - the ticket price should be a quarter of what it is at the most or should be free. The gardens and trees don't look particularly well maintained either and the whole place is tired looking and out of date.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Compton Acres - Hotel - Gift shop - Gardens & Garden centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were in Bournemouth for a few days (November 2013) and decided to visit Compton Acres. When you first arrive at the property you imagine it's only a hotel, but inside there is a restaurant, gift shop, garden centre and as you pass through the gift shop you enter the ticket office for the garden itself.

As I say we were there in November, and it was still very good, I would imagine from May and through the summer months it would be splendid. The are lots of palms, ferns and Rhododendrons, obviously amongst other plants.

I did take a lot more photographs than those submitted, but where do you stop, check it out for yourself, you'll see what I mean.

Well worth the visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compton Acres also viewed

 

Been to Compton Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compton Acres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.