We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, only issue was bed was too soft” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RNLI College

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RNLI College
Save
You added RNLI College to your Saves list
West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Worcestershire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place, only issue was bed was too soft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday weekend in August. This was an excellent choice and excellent value. The room was well equiped and super clean. We had a great view of the habour and it is wonderful seeing the life boats from your room.

My only issue was the bed was very very soft for me, but I guess this is personal. The breakfast was excellent, the staff the same. The bar is super and really enjoyable to sit and watch the habour. We managed to get a parking space which was very secure.

There is a wonderful fish and chip shop within walking distance called Lakeside Fish and Chips (eat in or take away).

Regret we didn't get to do the RNLI tour but would 100% like to do it if we are lucky enough to have reason to stay in Poole again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Boo 1000

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We really appreciate you comments.

We do have some firmer mattresses should you wish next time you stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    91
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
212
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamsphire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I facilitated a training session here (second time, did a Board away day here a few months ago), and I can highly recommend it. Very helpful staff - I had to ask for help a couple of times and they were extremely quick to respond and very positive and smiling all the time. Lunch was fantastic - this time we had it in our room with the delegates - mini fish and chips, mini pasta dishes, wraps, fruit and cold meat platters, creamy white-choc puddings... really excellent choice and quality. Last time we used the restaurant which was equally a great experience. All rooms I have been in have a wonderful view of Poole harbour. Great facilities, new building, all very professional with nice touches.

Room Tip: I did not sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi auki

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments.

We have extensive conference and meeting space, purose built to deliver world class training for our volunteer crew. Selling our spare capacity help raise additonal funds, supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked the RNLI College at Poole to celebrate my birthday and it could not have been a better holiday. We have stayed here previously and the standards are still as high.

It is impossible to find any criticism. The service of the Receptionists was excellent, the Restaurant and Bar staff service was excellent and the standard of the Housekeeping was excellent. There was a good selection on the Riggers Restaurant Menu and it was always cooked and served to perfection.

I had a lovely surprise when the Restaurant Staff Presented me with my birthday cake (and candle!) and everyone sang "Happy Birthday"!

All money spent at the RNLI College goes towards the funds, and when you see the men and women taking the courses, many in their own time, you have to appreciate just what the RNLI means to us all.

.

Room Tip: All bedrooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Colin R

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments and delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us.

Thank you for choosing RNLI College and supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visiting friends in Poole this week and we booked in on the Discovery Tour of the RNLI college building overlooking Poole harbour.
This tour is thoroughly recommended to anyone visiting Poole and highlights the fantastic training facilities available for all the volunteers who take up the work of this wonderful charity. Of particular interest was the hands on experience of the rescue simulator used in the training process.This brings home to the visitor (in extremely lifelike terms!!) the drama and risks that these fantastic volunteer crews undertake at sea in dangerous and demanding conditions.An excellent tour of a brilliant facility conducted with loads of interesting information by tour guides Paul and David.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi GEOFF R

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to RNLI College. We appreciateyour kind fedback.

Thank you for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great value.... we couldn't manage the three course and just opted for the carvery at £7-50 for help your self. Excellent food and lovely staff. Thoroughly recommended.
Nice view off the water and boats whilst eating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi XmasStevo

Thank you for review RNLI College and for your kind comments.

We appreciate your support for the RNLI. Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

overall a good stay. clean rooms, free wifi. not the number 1 hotel as described in my opinion, but staff were fantastic!! Even better was the food, especially breakfast!!! Great location for exploring Poole,Lulworth Cove,Dorchester and Bournemouth.Help support the RNLI.

Room Tip: try getting a room away from the A/C units as they generate a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Mr_Hudson

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind comments.

RNLI College is a working college and we sell our spare capacity to raise additonal funds, supporting saving lives at sea. Our number 1 rating is not about us being the most comfortable, or the most luxurious hotel. The rating is generated by reviews experiences. We pride ourselves on offering an exceptional level of 'warm' hospitality to our volunteer crews and hope this is reflected to all o four supporters.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having to spend a night on business in Poole, I booked a room at the College. It provided a comfortable and well-equipped room, as well as food obviously intended to build up budding lifeboatmen. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and it was good value. The accommodation was slightly 'governmental' but that's hardly surprising. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Sarum_Castle

Thank you for your review with tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind comments and hope you felt welcome.

Thank you for staying with us and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poole
#1 Business Hotel in Poole
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RNLI College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.