We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is that good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RNLI College

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RNLI College
West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Poole
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It really is that good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything has been written before about this venue, you really have to look hard for any defects, mine would be a hook is needed on the Bathroom door and that's it! The view is stupendous, the staff all that you could expect, bar prices reasonable and the food pretty good.
Our rom [311] was more than adequate, an outstanding bed [if a little high] all the ususal bits that you need, A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi peterandjenny282

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your generous feed back and for choosing to stay with us.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI to help save lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    74
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
181
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we went here for a wediing reception. We were very pleasantly surprised by the room standard, godd size, clean and welll furnished.
the temperature was rather high, so we left the window open. Just unfortunate that the rain hitting the tin roof woke us up at early o'clock the next day :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Chris 2709

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are currently considering bedroom refurbishments and are looking at how we can add further individual comtrol over room heating. All of our public / training areas have full air conditioning but we would be unlikely to add this to bedrooms.
We appreciate you kind feedback and choosing to stay with us. Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The RNLI College College in Poole is the venue with a difference for corporate events; because it's so different. The meeting rooms are state of the art and the accommodation is perfect for staff events as many of the rooms are single. The restaurant was more like a company restaurant but even that added to the difference that my team enjoyed. Seeing the lifeboat men going about their training, water views everywhere, lifesaving equipment exhibits; all added further to the difference. Having spent years using faceless hotel chains for meetings this was truly different.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Rob

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. You kind comments are much appreciated and we are delighted that you team enjoyed your meeting event with us. We also offer some of the team building / bonding activities and other unique world class training our crew enjoy, commercially. This is a great way to experience our sea survival facilities and for business to further support the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I wanted to contact the college direct by email, but even that seems to be a non starter. My wife and I have stayed several times, although the last time was Sept 2011. Therefore, this trip was a bitter disappointment as we noticed a downturn in the food options for the evening and lack of staff at breakfast to assist those who are new to the college to ensure they knew the set-up. Our main concern was the price we were charged, we stayed 2 nights costing us £188 for a double room with breakfast on the 12th & 13th Oct. Each night had a different price, and when my wife queried this, the receptionist said there was a different daily rate, as the Managers decide each day on what the price is they are to charge! So it seems to be a lottery on what price you will get. Before when we have stayed the rates have been the same for each night, so I don't know when this changed, I would welcome the college to contact me to discuss further, as we have not paid this much before. Lastly we were over charged for an evening meal, and on querying it, it took us 3 times to point out the error before the waitress decided to call over the restaurant supervisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Bryan B

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. RNLI College is easy to contact via email directly on reception@rni.org.uk or via the website links. I am very sorry to learn of the issues you have raised. We do have 24 hour Duty Management coverage at the College and would have been happy to explain, or at least try and resolve the issues raised.

RNLI College, as with most hotel accomodation providers charge daily rates that reflect demand. This means we offer cheaper prices when we have more rooms available. The weekend you stayed we were full - other accommodation providers were charging up to double our prices. Best prices can be gained by booking early.

We are unable to identify you via tripadvisor but would welcome the opportunity to understand and discuss your feedback. If you are happy to contact me, please email richard_martin@rnli.org.uk with your contact details.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I chose the RNLI for our wedding as we are a family of sailors and my dad does some volunteer work for them so the RNLI plays a large role in our lives but more so it just seemed like such a lovely and unusual venue, I would never have thought of it until Ii saw an advert on the Poole registry office website.

I cannot fault them for anything, their attention to detail from the day I enquired right up to the morning after the wedding was beyond expectation. All the staff were great from the events team to the serving staff, all polite friendly and helpful.

The events team answered my questions quickly and helped with everything. Nothing I asked for was discouraged and they accommodated all our needs and requests without hesitation. It was clear that they would do whatever they could to make it the day we wanted rather than the day that was easiest for them (some venue's had turned their noses up at some of the ideas we had).

Our manager for the day was great too, he communicated with us and made sure we had everything we wanted and was in control all day, we could really relax. I had been getting very worried that I wouldn't have enjoyed the day as I would have been coordinating everyone else but he made sure that was not the case.

The bar and serving staff were also very tentative and did not stop smiling and helping all day (and they had a very long day!) Some were back in the following morning and made a point of coming to congratulate us and make sure we had enjoyed our day.

The Function rooms were perfect for our needs, the harbour view suite where we had our ceremony and wedding breakfast was decorated just as we had asked and the panoramic view of the harbour made it very romantic. As the weather was nice we had welcome drinks by the water and the view was fantastic. We had about 50 people and it was lovely and intimate but still felt very spacious. The water front suite that we used in the evening was ideal too, the space worked really well for the food, DJ, seating and dance floor, and the use of the 'private bar' meant guests did not have to leave the room to get a drink from the slipway bar. We also had use of the smaller lobby area where guests could sit away from the noise if needs be.

I have to follow a gluten free diet and the chef went above and beyond to ensure that the food was suitable for me, he was able to adapt the existing menu rather than me being singled out and having a separate option to everyone else, which was nice to feel like I was eating the ‘normal’ meal for once.

The hotel room was very comfortable, modern and clean definitely one of the better hotel rooms I have stayed in. The breakfast in the morning had a great variety.

If you are considering a wedding venue with a difference and want somewhere special this is a lovely place, it is easily accessible, there was plenty of parking for guests and the staff are wonderful, I would definitely recommend it. If you are considering it for your wedding, please feel free to message me if you want more information/advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Jenny B

Thank you for you taking the time to write such a lovely review with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your special day with us and really appreciate your trust in us delivering such an important day for you, your husband and family.

We have passed on your kind comment to the team and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Poole, staying at the RNLI College. We have stayed in Poole several times before and I must say that this was one of the nicest stays we have had. Our room was lovely with fresh clean bedding and squishy duvet and pillows! It was a sheer joy to wake overlooking the harbour with magnificant views every morning. The breakfast was first class with lots of choice. We didnt get to eat in the restaurant; but did manage to fit in afternoon tea, which was lovely, helped again by the lovely views. The staff were all really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will definately come back and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Lynne L

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI save lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely light and modern building. Really good room – spacious, immaculate and with wonderful views of the harbour. Also, from one of the staircases you can watch the Twin Sails bridge tilting.
The breakfasts were great (though I have since seen the comment here on TripAdvisor that there were additional choices that weren’t obvious and agree that there should be notices on each table to explain). Very impressed at the evening meals in the restaurant – in particular the penne with tomatoes and basil! Also the prices for both food and wine were very reasonable.
Picked up some ideal presents in the gift shop, where there’s a huge choice.
The college is very close to the town centre and harbour, so it’s a short walk to anywhere you want to be really. Our only regret was that we weren’t around to enjoy one of the guided tours, or watch the sea survival training from the viewing platform outside the building. Absolutely delighted with our stay and will stay here again without hesitation. It’s a real bonus to know that you’re supporting such a good cause too.

Room Tip: All rooms would appear to have good harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Gill J

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI Collge with tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback. We have noted a few comments about breeakfast and will be introducing new table menus shortly that explain the full choice and offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, especially to take up the College tour!

Thank you for staying with us and supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poole
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RNLI College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RNLI College to your Saves list