We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in elegant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grovefield Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grovefield Manor to your Saves list
Grovefield Manor
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Pinewood Road | Branksome Park, Poole BH13 6JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 51 Poole B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in elegant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent a night here with a group of golfers and was seriously impressed. Beautifully restored Branksome Park manor house at head of a chine and so a short walk through the pine glen to the beach. Each room is very well furnished and the lounge a comfortable retreat for reading or a nap! Evertthing seems fresh and clean. The owner is a convivial chap who takes great pride in the hotel and his cats! I d be by happy to recommend Grovefield Manor to my friends wanting a peaceful break in an exclusive area of sunny Bournemouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Manager at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Many, many thanks Howard for your kind review. In a short period of time you showed that it is possible to see and appreciate the location of Grovefield Manor. I am extremely lucky that I really enjoy my job and the best part is meeting and speaking with very interesting people like yourself. My sincere best wishes to you, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
70
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for three wonderful nights at this lovely boutique hotel. Our room was very large and nicely furnished with excellent fittings and a huge bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the hosts friendly but discreet. Would gladly return again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Owner at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much Eric, a wonderful review appreciated by all the staff. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again in the future. Our sincere best wishes, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a lovely, spacious room, with a very comfortable bed, charmingly decorated. Full cooked to order English breakfast, as well as cereals, fruit and yogurt, choices of teas or coffee were included and very good. The hotel is across the rd from a path leading down to Braksome Chine, a gorgeous wide sandy beach with a very nice restaurant.

Room Tip: We loved room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Owner at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. With positive reviews we do not become complacent for it reminds us that we have to keep our standards up to maintain good reviews which are obviously very helpful for us. My sincere best wishes, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Grovefieild. Excellent location walking distance to beach easy walk down but uphill all the way back
We stayed in the Dolphin apartment ajoining the hotel and it was a lovely 2 bed more like a mini bungalow with small garden, We will go there again and perhaps try the Bed and Breakfast, there is also a really nice pub 3 houses down perfect for a quick drink or a meal
The accommodation was very clean and had everything we required even a dishwasher my only moan would be there is perhaps too much odds and ends in apt but that's just me must admit to moving around a few bits, unsure what to do with the big piece of art standing up in the second bedroom
But overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Made to feel very welcome on arrival. Breakfast was served from 8 am however we required an early checkout as we had a boat to catch. Pleasantly surprised that we would be accommodated and breakfast was served at 6.30. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable however we had no hot water. Unable to start the day with a shower! My only other criticism was that the bill was prepare and charged to my card (I had given the details to secure the booking) while we were still eating breakfast, I may have wanted to pay cash. This was probable done to speed up check out but I would have preferred to be asked.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I have unfortunately just got back home from staying in this beautifully welcoming hotel. We had a fabulously large room with a large very comfy bed. I don't usually sleep very well away from home, but sure did here. You couldn't ask for anything else from this hotel, because it has everything. Superb full English breakfast, but if you have a smaller appetite (we don't) there are numerous choices, and if its not there on the menu, ask and they will try to accommodate you. Everyone is so nice, then there's Charlie, the most beautiful cat that I have ever seen, but couldn't get him in my bag to bring him home with me. We will definitely be going back for a weekend or a few days during the week.

Room Tip: We had room 14, it overlooked the car park, was very quiet, no noise from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in the Double en-suite shower room, the room was beautifully decorated with plenty of space, and a sense of warmth, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very large and although some of the finishing touches could have been slightly better it did not matter! The main house is beautifully decorated and gives you a sense of grandeur.

Location is close to the beach with plenty of restaurants and shops near by and only a short taxi ride away from sandbanks at cost of around £8-9

The service was very personal and we were made to feel at home. Keith was fantastic and was always there for you needs and wants, be it a taxi cab ordered or a glass of wine late at night in the bar. The breakfast was of a very high standard and again enough could not be done to cater for all the guests.

Overall a fantastic experience and I would go back again :D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grovefield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grovefield Manor

Address: 18 Pinewood Road | Branksome Park, Poole BH13 6JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grovefield Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grovefield Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grovefield Manor Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grovefield Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.