We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gutted I had to leave...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mariners Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mariners Guest House
Save
You added The Mariners Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Sandbanks Road, Poole BH14 8AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gutted I had to leave...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for a total of 5 nights and the experience was excellent, 5 stars from start to finish, room was great and breakfast was delicious! Excellent location to near attractions and a stone throw away from the high street, very polite and always willing to help with directions etc. Will definately be staying again when I come back down.

Thanks for having me down!

Alistair

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Owner at The Mariners Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Gutted you had to leave Alistair…you were a pleasure to have stay with us. Pleased that you did well in your skateboarding competition. See you again soon when you bring your mum down for a wee holiday….bring the Mercedes down when you next visit…I'd love to see it or even better have a test drive in it. Best wishes Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    25
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
57
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had a 5 night stay at the Mariners B&B, the room was well appointed and the whole B&B spotless throughout. Yvonne is very nice lady and ensured I had a delicious full breakfast and fresh coffee each morning. For the more healthy there was a range of fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal. In walking distance of the B&B there is a wide range of nice bars, pubs with character and good restaurants. I would stay again the next time I am in Poole.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Owner at The Mariners Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks Lee for giving us a fab review…look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is an Ideal B&B located within walking distance of our training venue (3rg) and the local pubs and restaurants.

Yvonne was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome from the start and provided us with a wealth of local knowledge and a perfect breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Owner at The Mariners Guest House, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks Andy for the lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet both you and your colleague Lee and I l hope to see you down this way again soon. How did the newspaper prank go??? Best wishes Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Exactly what I needed. The bed I had was very comfortable with lovely bedding teas and coffee in the rooms.the breakfast was very fresh and really enjoyed the strawberrys that were out. Very clean. Perfect host. Thank you for letting my friend from another b and b use your iron and ironing board. Shall stay there again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Owner at The Mariners Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review Lee…it was a pleasure to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon if you are down this way doing any more courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I was made to feel very welcome at The Mariners Guest House. My room was small but comfortable and very well presented. Yvonne was very friendly and helpful in giving me information about the local area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
challenger08
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed one night in one of the two attic rooms. Yvonne was very welcoming and helpful.
The attic rooms are on the second floor and accessed by quite a steep and narrow staircase. My room had two single pine beds - there was little floor space and although everything was very clean, there was very little room to move about in.
No desk or dressing table, so working was out of the question, but in fairness I didn't ask about this when I booked.
The beds were comfortable and I had a good night's sleep.
The bathroom was not so good for me - the shower is built into an area with a sloping ceiling and space is very tight, even though the cubicle itself was a good size. There was no shelf, so nowhere to place toiletries other tun the floor, and the shower head and water pressure was poor. The only mirror was on the wall opposite the basin which made shaving a little more challenging.
The dining room was excellent - and the breakfast very good indeed.
There was a lot I liked about Mariners, but a few aspects make it not ideal for my needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Mariner's guest house is a great place to stay with great value pricing so if your looking for accomodation around the poole area give it a try. It is a very good quality bed and breakfast outlet with good size rooms that are very clean with comfortable bedding and facilities. It has a lot of very good local restaurants and pubs and also is very close to the music venue Mr Kyps. We will definitely be booking again next time in that area. Yvonne the owner was very helpful and knowledgeable regarding local amenties and attractions

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mariners Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariners Guest House

Address: 26 Sandbanks Road, Poole BH14 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mariners Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Mariners Guest House Poole, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mariners Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.