We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fixed price buffet needed thank you.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jade Palace
23-25 Middle Row, Old Town High Street,, Stevenage SG1 3AW, England
01438 350404
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 109 Restaurants in Stevenage
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Letchworth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No fixed price buffet needed thank you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We visted sunday 23rd dec. . We never get the fixed price all you can eat buffet menu that so many people moan about for one reason or another. . We order from the al a carte menu. . So we get exactly what choices we want, and the correct amount of food we want. And we find it works out cheaper. . We really enjoyed our food. And a decent bottle of sauvignon blanc to wash it down with too. . A hit for us.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    9
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Chinese Food In Stevenage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for over 10 years now with assorted family and friends. The food has always been great and the starters are wonderful. A super little restaurant, reasonably priced. Staff have always done their best. A+++

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We visited here after the main "all you can eat" Chinese buffet in Stevenage closed down.

Although it was fairly good value for money, we weren't bowled over with the food. I think the main reason is because it isn't really a buffet. You order the food from a menu rather than choosing from trays of food in front of you. Which also means, they portion your food for you. Which is fine until you order something you're not sure of and then end up not liking. It made me feel a bit guilty when they had to collect a whole bowl of food.

Most of the food was okay. Not great. But the noodles we had tasted burnt. And when we ordered a king prawn dish is was a bit like a game of hunt the prawns.

Staff were efficient and very courteous.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

sunday lunch order-to-table buffet, £7.90 per adult, order as much as you want to eat. the food arrived pretty quickly and steamy hot. they were nothing extraordinary but as good as any takeaway. small portion but that's the idea, like a taster for more dishes. waitress didn't explain how the menu work, just put in front of you and could be a bit confusing for the first time. so we wrote down the dish numbers on a small piece of paper and handed it back to the waitress, dishes arrived, we ate; still hungry, we asked for menu and ordered again. can repeat many times until everyone is full. and we paid £7.9 per head, that's it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“All you can eat, if you really want to ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is an all you can eat experience (hence why the portions are small, you simply order more of what ever you want). The price is fixed (£14.50 for an adult and £8.50 for anyone under 10- which I think was very expensive for a child).

You are handed a menu and you simply write down the numbers of things you want and the food is bought out to you. The starters were not too bad (avoid the crab claws, clearly pre-frozen things that were very dry). The crispy duck was not too bad at all really. The main courses are small portions, but as I said, you simply order more once you have eaten it. I was not blown away by these, they were OK, average really at best.

I think there was a bit too much MSG going around and the flavours were not that impressive (avoid the curry .. brown blobby, gloopy sauce that does not taste of anything).

If you are *really* hungry and are happy with very average (at best) Chinese food then this place is OK. I think the price for children is very steep, a four year old does not eat £8.50 worth of food by any stretch of the imagination, and this is clearly where they make their money. Also, I think £14.50 is a bit high for the quality. We were at a very good Chinese in Ireland recently (for which I wrote a review) and that was 10 times better and only a fraction more expensive.

Service is very good. They are very good with kids and we had a nice time, just not blown away by the food.

Overall, I would not go back myself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Palace also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Jade Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.