We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Stevenage
Unit 12, Stevenage Leisure Park, Kingsway, Stevenage SG1 2UG, England
+44 (0)1438 352700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 117 Restaurants in Stevenage
Price range: $1 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Now that's Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

On Saturday morning we called in for breakfast and it was rather empty. The service was very good. The food wasn't of a standard that would get me to drive the 18 miles specifically to eat there, but if in the area I would call in again.
The decor is interesting if you like retro New York and Baseball. Personally I think the Hatfield branch is way better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    60
    40
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hit and miss service, and hit and miss food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a couple of visits here where the service and food has been great.
Also had a couple where it's been busy and they've been massively understaffed and the service has been really poor, and the food quality is not consistent. It is obviously a chain place with lower end chain quality food, but i'd rather go to Pizza Express or Prezzo which are similar or cheaper prices, and much better quality food

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Usual Frankie and Bennys, with good staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Frankie and Bennys is Frankie and Bennys, what else can I say?
The food tasted fine, nothing special.
Drinks and food came quickly.
Was very quiet for a Thursday evening, but I think that may be because it was forecasted to snow.
Must say though, our server was lovely. Can't remember his name, but it began with an A and he was very helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings but food failed to match”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

First time at this restaurant. A friend and myself decided to go for the 2 courses for £10.95 option. Both the manager/waiter and waitress seemed bemused by items on the menu and we had to point to our choices. The man appeared to have rather a strange Italian accent (phoney?)
Our starters were chicken wings and bruschetta and the portions were tiny - only 3 small wings and the bruschetta 2 slices of baguette with finely chopped but tasteless and watery tomato salad. I believed bruschetta should contain garlic but could not detect any.
My main was chicken penne pesto and again a small portion size. Pasta is cheap so the helping should be generous. My colleague had the New York burger but was equally unimpressed.
Admittedly the restaurant is clean and several nearby tables with children seemed to be having a great time. We found the service to be slow, the McDonald-like seating rather cramped and the food disappointing compared to the wonderful descriptions on the menus. Rather a non event and we only visited because our favourite Indian restaurant on the site had closed down!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went before going to the cinema very busy at the staff tried hard to get us a table and out in time for our film. Good selection of food and always all ok and service friendly

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Stevenage also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Stevenage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.