We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable second visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Stevenage Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Stevenage Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Stevenage Central
Six Hills Way | Horizon Technology Park, Stevenage SG1 2DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyable second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and this visit was just as good as the first. It is easy to find and is well located for Stevenage town centre, mainline railway station - with direct services to London - and a nearby retail park, the latter with a good selection of restaurants.

Although by no means old, this isn't the most modern Premier Inn and as such doesn't have all of the latest fixtures and fittings - the old CRT television in the room being an obvious link to the past - but the whole building was clean, well presented and everything seemed to be working just fine. The bedroom was neat and tidy, the bed very comfortable and noise levels acceptable - if you like peace and quiet maybe ask for a room at the opposite end of the building to the A1M motorway which passes just the other side of the tree-line.

The staff are worthy of special mention - everyone we came into contact with was really very friendly and welcoming and tried their hardest to ensure that our short stay was a happy one.

Having left the car in the large car park we chose to walk into the centre via a network of traffic-free walkways and underpasses - it takes about 15 minutes or so. However there is no real need to venture outside of the hotel if you don't want to since there is a bar and restaurant on-site. We didn't have dinner but we chose to have the continental breakfast. At under £6 for all you can eat we thought it was good value and good quality - and you can have a full english version for less than £9. Worth considering is what effectively amounts to half-board - this consists of a three-course dinner with a drink and then a full breakfast for around £23.

Overall we enjoyed our brief overnight visit and would have no hesitation in using the hotel in the future or in recommending it to others - we have also stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn Express but reckon the Premier Inn comes out on top.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    115
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
88
103
27
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed in many PI's in the past and we have probably stayed at this one the most. Its in a great location, fairly modern, aircon, great 'Thyme' restaurant etc.
Surprisingly, as this PI is right next to the A1, you would expect outside noise, but no! This PI is also in a good location if you want to get onto the train and go to London etc.
My other half and I really love the Thyme restaurant, all Thyme restaurants as it goes. This one is no exception. Friendly and helpful staff. That goes for the hotel too.

However... having placed the Do Not Disturb sign on our doorhandle the night before, I was woken up the following morning around 8 - 8.15am by the cleaners who let the fire doors slam and by their talking, not whispering, but talking to each other. My waking up made the other half wake up too. We tried to doze off again but we could hear the cleaners again around 9am, so we got up.

I understand that they have to sort out rooms etc. We were on the top floor so maybe the itenery means they clean from the top downwards. Maybe some sort of re-arranging of cleaning roster is needed.
We did mention this niggle when we left the hotel to the receptionist and they said they would talk to the cleaning team.
Otherwise, Stevenage PI central is highly recommended as ever. Would I return? yeah!

Room Tip: We usually recommend a top floor. Less noise pollution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Needed to find a reasonably priced hotel and the location of this Premier Inn fitted the bill nicely.
Reception was good and friendly and the rooms were better than I anticipated. Food was served in a small(ish) restaurant but it was good service and the quality was perfectly acceptable.
Will return when returning to Stevenage.

The view is not the best I've ever had but this was probably reflected in the price I was charged.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenageCentralPI, Manager at Premier Inn Stevenage Central, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Stevenage Central.

It’s always refreshing to hear when we've exceeded a guest’s expectation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, it is a big encouragement to our team as it reminds us all our hard work and efforts do not go unnoticed.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stevenage Central Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently made a return visit and stayed for three nights. All staff continue to give helpful and friendly service. The rooms are pleasant and kept clean and the meals are of a high standard.
There is plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenageCentralPI, Manager at Premier Inn Stevenage Central, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for feedback it is much appreciated.

Im glad to hear once again at Stevenage Central we've made your stay very welcoming and pleasant. Also your thank you for your kind comments regarding the food. We've recently launched our new menu and its always nice to hear how pleased guests are with it.

I have shared all your feedback with our team and your comments are of great encouragement.

Once again thank you for you comments and we looking forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an average premier inn, fairly modern, good staff, A1(m) in hear shot...so keep windows closed...

located in Stevenage, which is only a destination for business or visiting family.... One of the cities on a grid system...so dull and grey and no real history.


Restaurant below is average and fullof fellow business people

the saving grace.... less than one mile away...is a cinema and eating places on a industrial estate....


Overall. Stevenage not nice but stay was comfortable

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenageCentralPI, Manager at Premier Inn Stevenage Central, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for leaving us your comments.

I'm sorry to hear you found Stevenage Town disappointing although I’m glad to hear at Premier Inn we made your stay a little more pleasant and comfortable.

I hope this experience will not deter you from staying at Stevenage Central Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have used this well-located Premier Inn several times in the last couple of years and have always found it to be an excellent establishment. This time was no exception and our all-too-brief stay was as pleasant as ever. The welcome was warm and professional, and our room (311, on the front of the hotel) was immaculately clean and freshly presented - as we've come to expect from this well-run site,
The staff are unfailingly friendly, helpful and welcoming, going out of their way to be pleasant and efficient.
The food, bar and parking facilities are all good, making this all-in-all a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but avoid the ones near the lift or above the front-of-house 'smoker' zon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenageCentralPI, Manager at Premier Inn Stevenage Central, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn it is our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and I’m glad to hear on this occasion you we're not disappointed.
I have shared your kind comments with our reception and restaurant team regarding their friendliness and helpfulness and also our housekeeping attendants regarding the cleanliness of the room. I would like to let you know your comments have been a great encouragement to all.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we looking forward to welcoming you back to Stevenage Central again and again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and was greeted by lovely welcoming staff who were happy to help:) stayed in 417
Our room was on the top floor and over looked an industrial park but was very quiet:)
It was very clean and spacious hotel and our room was nice, only problem was our window was broken and there was a sign to warn us, we could open it a little bit but was cold so didnt bother us and the room had air con!
Breakfast was gorgeous in a lovely restaurant area and all you can eat: cereals, fruit, muffins, croissants, crumpets, toast, juices , tea , coffee , latte and a full range of cooked for us it was delicious and a big plus for me was they had gluten free bread:)) the waitress was so happy and friendly and did everything to make everyone happy!
Wifi was on the blink while were there and we got the 3 pound a day charge for this refunded!
Nice hotel would recommend it! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenageCentralPI, Manager at Premier Inn Stevenage Central, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

We're glad you found our hotel clean, spacious and quiet despite its location near the A1. Also we apologies about your window situation. We are aware of the issue and have been in touch with contractors to come in and make the necessary repairs.

Also I have shared all your kind comments with our restaurant and kitchen team regarding breakfast and the wide variety of continental and cooked breakfast we offer. I'm glad our team was able to accommodate your needs with providing yourself with the gluten free bread you required and also with their welcoming, helpful service.

At Stevenage Central we do strive to deliver the best customer service to every guest that stays with us. I’m pleased that we achieved this for you.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Stevenage Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stevenage Central

Address: Six Hills Way | Horizon Technology Park, Stevenage SG1 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Stevenage Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel Stevenage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Stevenage Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.