We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly OK modern HIE but the nearby HI is a different class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stevenage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
London
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
719 helpful votes 719 helpful votes
“Perfectly OK modern HIE but the nearby HI is a different class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This hotel - about 3 minutes walk from Stevenage railway station - is everything you would expect from a modern HIE in the UK. The (identical) bedrooms you get in every HIE are modern and more than acceptable, the hotel is fairly new, there is a bar, the staff are friendly and it is directly located in the town centre. The price is also reasonable. All I would say, though, is that the nearby Holiday Inn is brand new and is done to a very high standard with very attractive decor. Compare the prices at both - the HIE gives you free breakfast and is 5 minutes walk nearer to the railway station, but the HI is a far nicer property. That said, you won't be disappointed by the HIE if you pay a sensible rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie__Phillips, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us,

We appreciate your review and are glad that you found us conveniently located, with friendly staff. We always try to ensure that we provide a comfortable environment and welcoming service to all our guests and I am pleased you found this yourself.

We always aim to offer a service that represents value for money within the market, including our complimentary breakfast including select hot items. We are aware that the Holiday Inn located nearby to us offers an alternative product to ourselves, so are always trying to remain competitive when it comes to price.

We are appreciative that you have chosen to stay with the Holiday Inn branded hotels, and look forward to welcoming you to one of our hotels in the near future

Regards
Jamie Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    118
    90
    28
    10
See reviews for
55
81
39
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I stay here because we have an office in the town. I have the choice of a number of hotels in Stevenage, many of a higher grade than a HIX.
Why do I stay here? The staff are very friendly and they remember you - small thing but its nice to be remembered.
The rooms are always clean and comfortable and you know exactly what you get for a HIX.
Whilst a challenge with HIX is food, there are 2 pubs next door (not that great but convenient) and plenty of choice in 10 minutes walk.
I am sure some of the other hotels have better facilities, but I will also take good service first.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie__Phillips, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stays with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage.

We are aware of the quantity of choice that Stevenage has to offer in regards to selection of hotels, so therefore appreciate that you choose to stay with us here.

We strive to offer good customer service to all our guests including recognition of our regular guests, to ensure they feel welcome within our hotel, therefore we appreciate your comments and will strive to ensure that this remains the case in future also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future, and thank you for your continued custom.

Yours Sincerely
Jamie Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Had one night here & couldn't fault anything. Check in quick & easy. Room spotless, comfy double bed for us & pull out double sofa bed for the kids. Bathroom clean, great shower. Tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was good & plentiful. We got down about 9ish, no scrambled eggs left, quick word with reception & less than 10 minutes later a fresh tray was made. Great central location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie__Phillips, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Elkin Family,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage.

We always attempt to offer a family friendly environment for guests with children and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to accomodating you in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Jamie Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel has the best staff of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Rooms are nice. Just a pleasant place to be. A nice clean bar with beer on tap @ reasonable prices. Ruslana and the team are fantastic. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana74, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear Revier,

I am very pleased to find out that you enjoyed your stay here in Holiday Inn Express Stevenage. I will make sure that we maintain good athmosphere in the hotel. Our team looking forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Thank you for your lovely comments. We really apreciate this.

Kind regards

Ruslana Yarmolyuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Stayed 1 night, checking in at about midnight.

Got keycard promptly, but reception insisted on charging (not just swiping as deposit) my card even though I showed the print-out stating that I had prepaid. Thankfully, on check-out the manager ironed out the error.

Room basic, but satisfactory. Easy, free parking widely available. Surrounding area and view from the room was the grimmest concrete jungle I have seen in any UK city. However, we had no plans to see the sights of Stevenage anyway!

Breakfast was quite disappointing- with the cutlery being dirty and the sausage/ eggs tasting like cardboard. Wifi was very expensive.

For the price, was not the worst hotel for value, but am unlikely to stay here again to be honest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana74, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear Revier,

Thank you for your comments regarding staying with us. We do appreciate your feedback regards the issues you expirienced whilst staying in the hotel.
I would like to reassure you that breakfast matter already been highlighted on our managers meeting and therefore we hope that next time you will have a great breakfast experience. Hot breakfast which we start to offer now should satisfy your expectation.
We now starting to look at WiFi pricing and by doing this we will find the better package to offer. We hope that internet inclusive packages will be good value for money for you.

We look forward to welcome you back here in Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Kind Regards

Jamie Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Check was prompt but rather impersonal.
The rooms were standard for this brand of hotel as was the breakfast.
There was little choice locally to eat. I ended up in the steak bar which was OK but expensive for what I got.
The plus side was I had a good nights sleep.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was my first stay at a HIE hotel and it certainly wont be the last. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the rail station (only 10 minutes walk). The room itself was brilliant - the staff I came in contact with were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was included in the price of the room - the scramble egg & sausages were nothing to write home about but there was a good buffet to fill up on.
Very pleased to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana74, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Rewier,

Thank you so much for your kind worlds.My team and I are very happy that you took the time to give us very positive feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the whole of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back here.

Kind regards

Ruslana Yarmolyuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Address: Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is located off Junction 7 of the A1(M) and is situated in the heart of Stevenage town centre.This Stevenage Hotel is within easy access to bus and train links providing a fast direct rail service to central London and around Hertfordshire, making the hotel an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. If you are travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is within easy walking and driving distance to some of the local companies within Stevenage such has DuPont, MDBA, Fujitsu and Glaxo SmithKline. London Luton Airport is only 13miles from the hotel. With the hotel being located within the heart of Stevenage a number of good restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. Visit London or Cambridge Stay at this excellent Stevenage hotel and ask about our low rates.The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite, fully air conditioned with free Wifi and freeview TV. We have a small car park with limited spaces, but can arrange free alternatives. Guests also benefit from a Buffet Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.