We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant team of staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Stevenage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Stevenage
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A brilliant team of staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Many hotels nowadays are too similar in decor, facilities etc to differentiate. The only difference between the mediocre and the superb is the staff.
This is where the holiday inn express in Stevenage is a world apart from the ibis and premier inns of this world.
On arrival the gentleman explained very clearly all of pass, wifi and parking arrangements. We asked if he knew of a local taxi firm and just he asked what time did we need it and he'd book it for us. When passing back through the lobby he asked if the room was ok and wished us a good evening.
The same courteous attention was provided by the female member of staff.
The following day I discovered that I had left my phone in the room. Again they were helpful, simply took my address and said they would post it to me.
This is a class act. Well done to all of the staff for making my stay so pleasurable and hassle free.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    103
    80
    25
    10
See reviews for
45
70
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a stop over, on route for our trip to Lincolnshire . Due to limited parking we parked opposite in the Matalan car park which was no problem. (I did ring the hotel about this before hand) After a nightmare journey the hotel was spotless and welcoming, and the staff were very pleasant .
Our room was perfect for our requirements, although I would have preferred a king size bed, only because that is what I am use to, but in fairness we did book a double and we were only stopping one night and at £44 we could hardly complain.
There is a huge leisure park about 10 minutes walk away with many different restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the Chiquitos restaurant .

Back at the hotel we didn't hear a sound all night and slept well. The price we paid included breakfast which was really tasty, well thought out and stress free. My only negative was the shower curtain in the bathroom needed replacing but in truthfulness that is the worst I can say.
I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express hotel, perfect, if like us you are breaking up your journey and need a reviving overnight stop.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a great little hotel. Very close to the centre of the town and with parking not far away. The room was very comfortable and clean. I was able to use a nearby David Lloyd which was in walking distance for the morning swim. Loads of restaurants very close by. I'd recommend the Prezzo near to David Lloyd. Breakfast basic but good and staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

stayed here a few times now, usually get a family room as sharing with children, main bed really soft but sofa bed quite hard. always clean and tidy lots of hot water in shower room great value as breakfast included. good choice of food you can help yourself too, eggs and sausage basic but what do you expect for free.
car park only free 6pm - 9am quiet room but have always stayed on 2nd floor away from lifts.

Room Tip: if needing quiet ask for higher floors away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I booked this through Expedia and requested a double room. Upon arrival i was allocated a twin room and they blamed expedia for the mastake. The manager informed me that they had sent a request for a standad double but only if available which i have since found out is utter rubbish.

When i wanted to order dinner to my room the phone to recepion did not work and for a couple of hours after arrival there was no hot water.

I will now certinly be avoiding this hotel chain in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear stephen s,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see your high score for the Cleanliness of the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed B&B, staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great. Rooms on Lower Ground do get noisy with all the walking in the Lounge area on the floor directly above. Only one lift to go to LG which is not helpful as lifts are pretty slow. Service from staff was great with a nice lounge to relax in the evening or at night with a drink or two.

Room Tip: Get rooms which are not on the lower ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hotel a few times before and havent reviewed only because I normally never review just dont have the time but after my last stay in august I have had to make time.

It was a difficult trip for me as I was staying to attend my grandads funeral I brought my 4 year old girl with me and I had just had an operation the staff noticed this and carried my bags to my room for me sheena and alex were especially friendly and helpfull. The room was spotless and my little girl loved her sofa bed all made up and ready when we got there with a little pressie in her bed for her I thought this was cute.

We ordered a pizza one night frim the bar and it was lovely. The air con in the room was great as the days were warm. Breakfast was lovely I was impressed with how much choice as you normally have to pay another 7 pound for breakfast but not here.

Free wifi was very helpfull and the location is perfect as we got the train there so didn't have a car we could still explore town and my daughter loved the park near by also only a short walk from the train and bus stations with the cinima and leisure complex just over the bridge a short walk away.mI'm from stevenage so visit regularly I will never stay anywhere else its well worth the price. keep up the good work guys
and thank you :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Address: Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is located off Junction 7 of the A1(M) and is situated in the heart of Stevenage town centre.This Stevenage Hotel is within easy access to bus and train links providing a fast direct rail service to central London and around Hertfordshire, making the hotel an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. If you are travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is within easy walking and driving distance to some of the local companies within Stevenage such has DuPont, MDBA, Fujitsu and Glaxo SmithKline. London Luton Airport is only 13miles from the hotel.With the hotel being located within the heart of Stevenage a number of good restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. Visit London or Cambridge Stay at this excellent Stevenage hotel and ask about our low rates.The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite, fully air conditioned with free Wifi and freeview TV. We have a small car park with limited spaces, but can arrange free alternatives. Guests also benefit from a free Buffet Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.