We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Broadwater, Stevenage SG2 8DS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rooms very comfortable and clean. However, as we were there as a family to attend an occasion the following day, we arrived in the evening. No facilities for bar meals, though they were served. The place was shabby, dirty, and the ladies & gents loos were a disgrace. We complained about a blocked toilet and a broken tap (we were there midweek not a weekend) the following day we left around midday, and guess what, the toilet was still blocked and the tap was still hanging off the sink.
We found a lot of empty rooms around the bar area, totally wasted space, could have had nice chairs and facilities for eating there. The hotel has a really bad name around Stevenage, all my relatives told me that we should have told them we were staying there and they would have advised against it.
Dirty, empty, shabby and totally horrible, wished I had stayed in my room all evening!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere, expensive and rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
7
13
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean room & public areas. Free WiFi throughout the hotel.
Large room with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, but quite dark - no central light and the standard lamp was obviously an old type CFL tube which took ages to get bright - only really a problem if you needed to do some work at the desk, though I suspect that reception would have gladly supplied additional lamps. Plenty of hot water, but extractor fan wasn't working in my room.
The food was excellent: both standard gastro-pub fayre and a really tasty Indian a la carte menu. It's certainly a shame for the staff that there weren't more people in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Measham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed as a stopover, a lot of the past reviews are quite accurate. very disjointed hotel with car park extending round the back to adjacent nursing home - bit of trek back round to reception if you don't know where you are going and hardly nice outlook, but that goes for the whole hotel!

Reception check in and out fine, food at breakfast ok and service was reasonable. Pub tagged onto reception area, al ittle dingy, but if your with a load of blokes and sky sports t.v football your scene, right up your street. bar man servwes you when he's not distracted or elsewhere, otherwise, typical pub really.

Room was ok but nothing glamourous, t.v at least worked bed reasonable, but everything about hotel needs a bit of an upgrade.

Look at the end of the day it's a functional hotel for business travellers in local area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

nice welcome food good but hotel needs urgent updating but okay for one night stay

Room Tip: alwayes make sure your room is away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very friendly welcome and provided with a single room some way from reception. Couldn't get wi-fi but worked for a while in the reception area. Room was clean and tidy but updating probably overdue.
Not many people having an evening meal in the restaurant. Well presented and good portions and whilst unlikely to win any awards it was good value for money. I needed to be away early and travel into London and breakfast was served from 6.30am so that definitely a plus point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is an unpretensious middle of the road 3 star, rooms were clean and well presented but looking a little worn here and there. Bathroom was clean and well stocked the bath was quite small and quite high to get in and out of. The breakfast was generous and of reasonable quality and with plenty of choice. All staff we contacted with were polite and helpful. Bar was very quiet in the evening but had comfortable chairs and sofas. We did not eat at the resteurant so cannot comment on this. If you want a quiet hotel with plenty of parking but not really situated near any main attractions other than a major retail park this will do nicely for a short stay. Tea and coffee tray was available in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here just before the long Easter weekend, just for a night away, to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. Yes, pulling off the main road by the roundabout can be a bit confusing as the only sign to the car park is pointing to the old peoples' home!

The room was lovely - obviously refurbished recently and of a good standard. The bathroom was looking a little tired but only if you're over critical!

Service in the bar was quick - very quick in fact - as was service over dinner. The simple answer was that we were the only guests in the hotel that night. The food was excellent - and I mean excellent.

It is obviously a businessman's hotel (and ideally suited for Knebworth) but for a weekend or night away it is perfect for couples.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn

Address: London Road, Broadwater, Stevenage SG2 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevenage
Stevenage Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.