We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Located Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Stevenage Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Stevenage Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Stevenage Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1EJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    91
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
23
49
53
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to discover that there is no car park. Had to trudge my case and work gear across from a multi storey situated behind the hotel. The greeting from reception was non existent and for some reason you cannot pay for your room on arrival to save time in the morning. Infact your card gets swiped for additional money incase there is any damage caused.

My room was on the fourth floor and stunk of cigarette smoke. Room was basic but clean.

In the morning upon check out the hotel had ran out of paper so it took ten minutes to print a vat receipt.

Awful service and hotel. I will not stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

I am sorry that we did not meet expectations, car parking is stated that it is offsite at every contact point.
You have the opportunity to pay prior to departure date, we just will not be able to publish a VAT receipt until check out.
The preauthorization is for security purposes and you will find that this policy is set in most hotels.
With regards to the smell, the hotel has strict non smoking policies so it may have been that the floor smelt as someone had come back from outside.

I am dispappointed that you felt staff were not friendly, we pride our selves in the service we deliver so I will address this issue to ensure that no guest ever feels unwelcome.

We hope that you will take into consideration the above and stay again.

Kind Regards
Hannah Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I went to the restaurant with a friend of mine for dinner. I ordered the jacket potato with bacon and cheese. I must commend the staff on their incredible dining experience. It wasn't too much bother for the staff to cater to my needs. All of them had a smile on their face throughout all of our visit. My meal was cooked well and to an excellent standard.

I will be recommending a friend. Great service and great team work. Well done the team at Stevenage Ibis. Will visit again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

It is important to us to receive regular feedback being positive or negative so that we are able to improve our service and deliver consistancy throughout.

Thank you for the wonderful comments you have displayed it pleases me to hear such wonderful reviews regarding the staff, we pride ourselves in the service we deliver therefore I am happy to hear that we met expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Hannah Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

One adult, 4 nIghts, modern hotel, clean room, clean hotel, the breakfast was very good, very nice staff, excellent service, good location, definitely I recommend this hotel and I will come back.
Thank you, M.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We pride ourselves in the service we deliver therefore it pleases me to hear such wonderful feedback.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hannah Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had an excellent one night's stay here recently. We had a party in London and wanted somewhere overnight to stay that was easy to reach driving from the north of England, and also quick to commute to London by train. Stevenage and the Ibis suited us perfectly: Stevenage is straight off the A1 and the Ibis is central and literally a 5 minute walk from the railway station. Parking and route to the hotel was a bit confusing initially as you have to park in the adjacent Westgate shopping centre car park which suggests a hefty fee according to the car park notices. This is not the case as a guest of Ibis though. We paid £3.50 for nearly 24 hours' parking. As long as you only exit from the car park once during your whole stay, the Ibis reception let you pay them £3.50 when you check out and you get a token for the parking machine to get out. It wasn't immediately apparent how to reach the hotel from the car park either, but maybe we were being a bit thick! The hotel room itself is clean, comfortable and modern. We stayed on the top floor and were not affected by any noise whatsoever. Air conditioning worked well, and the modern blackout blinds were welcomed. Lovely comfy 6' bed. The only criticism I have is the one I always have about budget chains and that is the thick winter tog style duvet that is on the bed - much too hot for this time of year. We didn't use the bar or restaurant as we were out in London, and for breakfast we found a much cheaper option in a 3 minute walk - a cafe called 'Nosh' on the other side of the Westgate Centre. At £2.99 for a cooked breakfast, it was a cheaper and adequate alternative to the £7.50 all you can eat buffet on offer in the Ibis. Very handy location for shops and a convenient late check-out time of 12 noon made this a great stay.

Room Tip: Top floor is out of the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your comments.

I am pleased to hear that you took full advantage of our hotel and locality, signage around the car park is something we are looking into so should be available soon.

We hope that you will make use of our hotel again.

Kind Regards

Ruslana Yarmolyuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Stevenage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Stevenage Centre

Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Stevenage Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS Stevenage Centre (formerly the Hertford Park Hotel) has just been newly refurbished. All 98 bedrooms are fully air conditioned with luxury shower, zip & link kingsize beds, flatscreen TVs with freeview channels, Complementary WiFi. IBIS Stevenage is in the centre of Stevenage, 3 minute walk from the train station, served by the East Coast Main Line and 20 minutes from London Kings Cross St. Pancrass and 20 minutes from Cambridge. 0.5 km from the Leisure park with its multiplec cinemas, bowling alleys and other entertainments. A short drive takes you into the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside and Knebworth House and Luton and Stanstead airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Stevenage Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Stevenage Centre Hotel Stevenage
Hotel Accor Stevenage Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Stevenage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.