We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and happy!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Stevenage Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Stevenage Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Stevenage Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“cheap and happy!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

paid next to nothing for a small night away with otherhalf and cant moan at all about room!! rooms are clean, tesco is right opposite if u need anything, resturant and bar downstairs, cant ask for more for a cheap night away!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    105
    49
    21
    16
See reviews for
24
57
56
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baignes-Sainte-Radegonde, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I came to Stevenage for business, and i had to stay 2 days in an hotel.
I select Ibis due to the good value for money they are in general. The service at the reception was nice and fast, and the room was very good. A large bed very confortable, wood floor which are much nicer than the normal carpet (much cleaner), flat screen TV, but hte best was the Wifi connection in the room for free all time.
The bathroom is new with shower, and tiles everywhere. Very good looking.
The hotel is going through a full refurb at the moment and it is very nice for the location. We hope they will the a nice bar and place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This was the worse hotel I have ever stayed in - the room was dirty and the furniture was appalling - cheap, broken and incredibly basic. It would have been cheaper to go to a B&B - that would be my recommendation. The breakfast which cost £7.50 was dreadful - frozen brown bread, surly waiting staff and little choice. Bring on the refurbishment.....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kawasaki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed at Stevenage on a business trip for one week. the thing I ilke about this hotel is location and wireless internet.. room is clean.. but one thing i notice if you arrive in your hotel earlier than 7pm.. alot of noise from drilling and hammering could not make you even close your eyes and relax.. terrrible noise... terrible..and worst was alarm in the hotel came out at 2AM in the morning for almost 10 minutes.. I guess the hotel does care about this kind of noise they have...reception is no problem.. I would say OK.. for
a scale of 5, I would give 2.5 for this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Merseyside
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Just don't go. I know that the Ibis hotels are basic but this is not my complaint. This hotel has dirty, filthy rooms which are not in the least bit comfortable.

I arrived at the hotel and wanted to check out within 15 minutes. 7 of those minutes were spent waiting whilst the receptionist finished a call in their native tongue and then checked me in.

I took the very noisy, shaky lift up to the 5th floor. I opened the door to room 514 and was greeted by a musty, sweaty smelly odour emanating from the room. I then noticed the yellow/brown bed linen, the frail, flimsy bed that moves when you sit on it. The 'sick' smelling stain to the left of the bed. I went to look in the bathroom the yellow and brown stained shower curtain, the yellow and brown stained toilet and the air vent which hasn't been cleaned since Noah built his Ark or come to that the whole of the room. The towels are worn and old and passed their best. The curtains are stained and dirty and ill fitting.

On my way out a maid was doing some rooms I asked to look at them - these were no better. I went to reception and asked for another room from a different man this time wearing a fleece he said "all rooms are the same". From outside the hotel and on my way to work I tried to book into 3 other hotels in the area and they were full imagine my disappointment. I was forced to spend 3 nights at this hotel. I tried to phone the Ibis to speak to the manager the phone just rang out. He was not there when I came back to the hotel. I worked long days and spent as little time as I could in this awful room.

The Holiday Inn Express is the same price as this hotel and includes breakfast and is 1 minute walk away I have stayed there and it is of a good standard by comparison. There is also a Holiday Inn which has been newly refurbished 3 mins walk away it is more expensive but far superior to this hotel and worth every £75.00 per night of it's crispy white clean sheets. Hurray I am there next week and for the rest of my contract.

The Ibis hotel has only one redeeming feature. It is the cafe bar for breakfast. The staff are friendly especially Brian, and the food on display is a good standard, it's such a shame the rest of the hotel is so horrific.

I have tried to give a balanced view and I stay in a lot of hotels between 50-75 bed nights per year. I hope I never ever have to stay in such an appalling hotel as this

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stay here nearly every month. It is basic but sufficient for a 3-4 night stay. Very convenient for the town and for the railway station. London is on 30 minutes by train and is a regular service. The hotel itseld is good, the staff are friendly and the rooms clean. There is now free WiFi which is an improvement. If the upgraded the TV service it woudl be the best value-for-money hotel in the town.

There is a local authority gym amd swimming pool close by that you can pay and play. Both are good facilities. Cinema and plenty of restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Stevenage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Stevenage Centre

Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Stevenage Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS Stevenage Centre (formerly the Hertford Park Hotel) has just been newly refurbished. All 98 bedrooms are fully air conditioned with luxury shower, zip & link kingsize beds, flatscreen TVs with freeview channels, Complementary WiFi. IBIS Stevenage is in the centre of Stevenage, 3 minute walk from the train station, served by the East Coast Main Line and 20 minutes from London Kings Cross St. Pancrass and 20 minutes from Cambridge. 0.5 km from the Leisure park with its multiplec cinemas, bowling alleys and other entertainments. A short drive takes you into the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside and Knebworth House and Luton and Stanstead airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Stevenage Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Stevenage Centre Hotel Stevenage
Hotel Accor Stevenage Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Stevenage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.