We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gate to your Saves list
Gate
Gates Way, Stevenage SG1 3LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

very clean and nice place to stay.Everything worked efficiently & the staff were helpful. The room & bathroom are well designed. The beds are comfortable. We would stay here again with a similar deal. The breakfast is good.The lobby is large and inviting. Rooms are a good size and fresh. The bed and pillows were really comfy. Check in was smooth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    6
    6
    25
See reviews for
8
15
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We needed a hotel close to the Old Town for attending a family party. This looked to be clean, was reasonably priced and well located for our needs.
That's about it really!
Reception is a rather strange set up. Upon arrival we were greeted by a note next to a telephone advising us to dial a number for reception. A lady answered straight away and said she'd be with us in a minute. She then appeared from one of the houses on the other side of the car park.
There was a bar area which appeared to be locked and out of use.
Our room was functional but not particularly attractive. It had a (shared) balcony but we were unable to access this as the doors were locked and we werent provided with a key. Not sure if this fully complies with fire safety regulations?
To gain access to the hotel after our night out we had to use an intercom located next to the main entrance. Again, somebody eventually appeared from the houses to the side of the car park to let us in. When we asked if it might be possible to have a night cap in the bar we were told it was too late.
On paper this hotel was ideal for what we needed but the lack of personal touches, a friendly smile to greet us on arrival for example, means that we won't be returning. I'm sure there are other more professional, friendlier hotels in the area. If we need to spend a night in Stevenage again, we'll certainly try to find one rather than return to the Gate!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Gate is close to the industrial areas so Ideal for business visitors and also very close to the old town where there are lots of restaurants and bars - There needs to be. You don't get a warm welcome at his hotel in fact you don't get any sort of welcome. The reception is permanently unmanned. Dial a phone on reception and eventually a lady reluctantly turns up. On my departure day it took quite a deal of persuading/arguing to get her to come to reception and even print an invoice out for me. She initially told me just to leave the key on reception - Appears she really can't be bothered. The restaurant is permanently closed as was the bar on my arrival. The room was of an OK Premier Inn standard, I didn't find WiFi if the service existed and couldn't bring myself to try and enquire as to whether the hotel had WiFi. There is parking at the hotel and the room charge I guess at around £60.00 is OK for what you get but I won't be staying here again, there's plenty of other places in Stevenage! I took some ribbing from other delegates on the seminar I was attending when I told them I'd stayed at the Gate Hotel - It appears this hotel is a bit of a running joke with the company!

Room Tip: Treat this place as a bedroom, don't expect more and you'll be OK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just back from a night's stay at the Gate Hotel with my partner. We had planned a night out with friends who live in Stevenage Old Town (as did my partner until very recently) and decided to stay over so that we could both have a few drinks. Tried to book the Cromwell but it was fully booked so went with the Gate. Was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor but in the event we found the hotel to be very nice. Check in was quick and easy, parking is available, the lady on Reception was very polite and the room was lovely and clean. We slept very well as the bed was lovely and comfortable and we would definitely return. We didn't stay for breakfast but only as there are so many places in the Old Town to eat and we were meeting our friends again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great budget hotel! The rooms & communal areas are very clean, the staff are very polite & the breakfast is very good. Hotel is also in a great location, the high street & train station with direct trains to London are on your doorstep! Well recommended.My stay was very pleasant. The room was larger than I expected for the price and very comfortable and modern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights. The room is clean, comfortable, warm and quiet with on-site parking. The lady manager is friendly. The lady is not always at reception but she responds when you contact her using via phone located at reception.

The hotel is located in a great location close to main roads and Tesco!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

the hotel was deserted when we arrived. we had previously been told ( the night before checkin) that now the bar/ restaurant would not be open due to it being quiet. this we found bizzare.. Room was not as advertised, quite basic.... not the cleanest. It didnt help that there was some sort of alarm going off constantly outside.when we finally found someone to ask what it was, they just shrugged and said " not heard that before". We did ask for some ice / or wine bucket for wine as we bought some because there was no bar open, this never arrived. the place felt like the marie celeste, and not at all warm and welcoming. i have stayed in the most basic of hotels and had better service... definitely not recommended .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate

Address: Gates Way, Stevenage SG1 3LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.