We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street | Old Town, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly Ramada Cromwell Stevenage)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Reading the previous review left me somewhat worried and my expectations were low. I booked through easy-breaks and recieved what i felt was a very good rate for 2 for two nights including breakfast plus dinner on night one.
Rooms and general repair state of the hotel was a little tired but for what i paid what do you expect. The room was comfortable and spacious and breakfast freshly cooked. Good portion sizes.
All the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. I would happily return and hope the staff are retained under the new management regime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    32
    18
    9
See reviews for
18
48
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Everybody & everything was fantastic on Saturday for the Valentines dinner. The food & service was terrific!
Special mentions to the lovely lady (I think she had a badge on that said Assistant Manager?) that kept us supplied with crisps & peanuts in the bar in the afternoon & the guy on reception at about 11:00 in the evening who brought me a glass of water when I had a coughing fit!!!!
Little things like that mean a lot and are really appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of our hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Valentines package and that the team made you feel welcome and valued and also saved you from your coughing fit!

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stevenage is mostly awful, with hotels to match. The only redeeming feature is the Old Town, where this hotel happens to be. It's the only hotel in Stevenage with any character, and compares favourably with the alternative modern boxes that you could choose. The décor is very old-fashioned, flowery wallpaper and the like, but somehow it seems to work in this particular building. Every room is different, which makes it a bit of an adventure waiting to see exactly what you do get. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I may be somewhat biased of our lovely hotel but must say I agree with your analysis of the Stevenage hotel market!

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, if you return to the area in the future please contact me directly.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law were married at The Cromwell last year, and apart from a few minor details it was an excellent venue. The wedding room was comfortable ,warm and delightfully intimate ,although the red carpet was easily rucked which posed a minor trip hazard.The reception was well catered and the food good.the evening venue was spacious ,with plenty of tables and chair for those who didn't wish to dance.The bedrooms were clean warm and comfortable, but the absolute gem in the Cromwell's crown were the staff who were absolutely wonderful. Their helpfulness and commitment to care was exemplary, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them ! So yes I would recommend a stay at The Cromwell and it was a great wedding venue .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. It really is great to receive positive feedback. I have passed these compliments onto the team who were very grateful and pleased to hear they contributed to the enjoyment of your son’s wedding. It’s lovely that after nearly a year you still have fond memories of the hotel.

I trust the team will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford.england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We couldnt believe our luck...nice staff .lovely ambience in the public rooms ,cosy tub chairs.four poster bed yeeha..great parking..and all in the centre of what i would call a bijou market town..absolutely fab..love it..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our four poster bedrooms. Please contact me when you wish to return and I will endeavour to allocate you the same room if it’s available.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and i went with friends to the cromwell hotel for New Years Eve, this is the first time we have been to an event there and i must say we were not disappointed . We stayed over night, we had a lovely clean comfortable room. The food was excellent we could not find fault with anything. The disco was really good and created a real party atmosphere.The one thing that stood out for us were the staff, they were all so helpful and polite especially the waiting staff who were mostly young people, nothing was any trouble,they were still smiling at the end of their shift which I am sure was a long one. So well done to you all and thank you for making our evening so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s so lovely to hear you enjoyed our Hollywood Oscars Ball on New Year’s Eve. I was present at this particular event and always find it’s a fun night for both guests and staff. This year’s plans are already in place for our 1920’s Speakeasy Ball and this event is now on sale so please contact the hotel for details. We look forward to welcoming you back again this year.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My Husband and I spent New Year's Eve at this hotel. This is the eighth year in a row we, as part of a large group, have spent NYE at the Cromwell and have always had such a good time. This year was no exception. It is excellent value for money and everything was very good indeed. The food (4 course dinner and breakfast the next day) the service and the rooms all exceeded expectations. We stayed in room 102 (one of the older rooms, which we prefer) the bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a good shower. We return to this hotel year after year because it offers us everything we look for and very reasonably priced. The staff are always helpful, polite and very welcoming.

Room Tip: We like the older style rooms and usually stay in the ones over-looking the High Street - having sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review. I trust your comments prove valuable to future guests. It really is great to receive positive feedback, this information is always passed onto the team members and they are rewarded for their efforts.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the celebrations to kick off the New Year. I was present at this particular event and always find it’s a fun night for both guests and staff. New Year’s Eve 2014 is on sale now so please contact the hotel for details, we hope to see you back this year!

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage

Address: High Street | Old Town, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly Ramada Cromwell Stevenage)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cromwell Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Ramada Stevenage
Stevenage Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.