We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Stevenage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Stevenage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Stevenage to your Saves list
Novotel Stevenage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    146
    90
    38
    21
See reviews for
76
93
41
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for one night when unfortunately I had to be in Stevenage and this is one of our 'approved' hotels. Very nice public areas and friendly check in. Bedroom corridors look plush but the actual bedrooms are a big disappointment (which after all is the main reason for staying). It smacked of a Travelodge room with very cheap white furniture. The bed was incredibly low and the mattress some type of foam although it didn't feel like memory foam, pillows were also uncomfortable. It was not a great nights sleep. The hotel is right next to the A1(M) and road noise is intrusive.

Room service was good and arrived quickly with nice food and decent portions. Breakfast was also of a good standard and the porridge was up to scratch.

I try never to stay in Stevenage and if I have to again think I will try one of the other hotels.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. I am surprised that they layout of the room was a surprise as all rooms are as we advertise on our website (pictures included). We also have two types of pillows in the bedrooms and the mattress is memory foam. Please feel free to call me on if you would like to discuss. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Where to start... No record of our booking, rude staff tried to accuse us of not paying, half a second hand loo placed in room, poo on the loo roll, when asked to change said dirty loo roll got no apology and no new loo roll, dusty and dirty kettle, dust in cupboards, sticky substance in drawer, dirty old bedding, broken heater, broken loo flush, marks on walls, dead spiders on the window, stained carpet and really bad mannered staff. We were staying in the area to attend the funeral of a loved one and Novotel made it an even worse experience. No apology at the hotel and when i complained afterwards I was told it was Booking.com's fault they lost my reservation (which I doubt) and didn't even mention my other complaints. Complained again asking them to at least acknowledge my complaints about the standards in the room and of the staff and got another email just ignoring my comments. Complained again but got no reply. If I worked in a hotel that had poo on hotel equipment I would do everything i could to apologise. Dirty and badly managed hotel run by an uncaring, sub-standard company!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay, and that there seems to have been some miscommunication about responding to your complaint. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness, and I did send an apology in response to your original comment on our internal guest feedback questionnaire after your stay in October 2013. I was not aware of any correspondence from you after this, and did not realise that you were unsatisfied with my response. As you mentioned that you complained afterwards, I would like to recommend to you that If you are faced with any issues during your stay please report them immediately to reception or the duty manager so we can rectify them and prevent your stay being a bad experience, especially as you stayed for three nights. I am most surprised and concerned by your comment about the staff, as we usually receive very positive feedback about the service and how friendly the team are. Having said that, I can assure you that all of your comments have been investigated by my management team, and the necessary actions taken to prevent such occurrences in the future. If you would like to discuss your experience with me in person, please feel free to call me on 01438 346 100 or email me on h0992-gm@accor.com. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Used to stay here on business 10-15 years ago and it was a pretty good hotel. Stayed here recently for one night and was disappointed. The staff we encountered were helpful and friendly but no amount of helpfulness can make up for soft, saggy beds and uncomfortable pillows that lead to disturbed and sleepless nights. The decor left something to be desired, a hole knocked in the door, stained carpet and stains on the bathroom wall. The sleep quality was on a par with our experience with Travelodges - very poor, and we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Stevenage. I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. But I’m delighted that you commented that the staff where helpful and friendly during your stay. We have two different type of pillows in the room, hence I am surprised about your comment about the pillows but we have noted your comments about the decor and the carpet. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Stevenage

Address: Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Stevenage is a 3-star hotel, a 5 minute drive from central Stevenage. Your stay at this hotel puts you in close proximity to the A1(M),as well as Knebworth Park. The hotel has 101 stylish guest rooms, each with satellite TV. Elements Restaurant is open all day for international cuisine, while the bar is the ideal spot for a nightcap. The hotel boasts 6 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 150 people. The hotel is ideally located for events at Knebworth Park. Stansted airport 27 miles and London Luton Airport only 16 miles away. Explore the magic of the Harry Potter films at the Studio Tour London only 35 min away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Stevenage Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Stevenage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.