We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a truly awful hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Stevenage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Stevenage to your Saves list
Novotel Stevenage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is a truly awful hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I strongly suggest that you don't stay here unless you need to.

Rooms are dirty, smelly, poorly ventilated, and noisy.

Breakfast is dreadful.

Service in the bar awful.

It's not even particularly cheap.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. I would like to look into this personally and I send you a private direct message but you did not reply. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    146
    90
    38
    21
See reviews for
76
93
41
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Very good location if on business in the stea as so close to the A1M. Efficient and friendly staff, especially one of the waitresses at breakfast whose service offered was excellent and made up for the most indelible and disgraceful example of scrambled egg ever to have been presented, absolutely awful and was the only egg choice, the chef needs to sort this out and fast. WiFi a complete joke, not only does it not work in the rooms (had to keep coming down to reception to send and receive e-mails which is a real pain when you are there on business!) but even when you can get a signal it is very poor and intermittent, all very irritating especially when you have to pay for the use of such a dreadful service, although I was refunded as the reception clearly knew it wasn't good! Rooms tired and in need of renovation, staff did know this and said it was one of their oldest hotels. If not for the staff and location, would not recommend this hotel if staying on business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. We are installing FREE wifi into our hotel as from next week. This will be in all areas at the hotel. Kind regards Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Stevenage I personally found the location to the train station (5 minutes) a great benefit! We did try the food in the restaurant and again this is better than your average hotel fare, they had kangaroo steaks on the menu!! as you come to expect with the Holiday Inn brand the rooms were modern and clean and definitely worthy of its 4 star rating. Reading a few of the other reviews regarding car parking this did not put me off when booking as there is ample space over the road(30 seconds) and its only £3.50 for the whole stay! overall great staff and great stay so would definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Stevenage. I look forward to welcome your at Novotel Stevenage on your next visit. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Second week in a row staying I n Stevenage, the hotel is mostly very clean, although tired. I have been in the 210-218 region, and they are roomy but tired, and lack free wifi! They need business travellers so why no wifi? Dreadful, drive 2 mins to Mc D, bingo
All staff are good and the hotel is nice and quiet

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Stevenage. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the WIFI, which we are addressing. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a course @ Knebworth. I was impressed with the quality of the hotel. Check-in was very good. Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious with tea and toast being brought to the table. Would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Stevenage and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel suited our purpose well - we were moving on to do business in Newmarkwet the following day. The room was good, the staff were courteous and we slept well. The price was reasonable value. However there was one problem and that was the quality of the meal served in the restaurant the evening before. My wife had the chicken and I chose the confit of duck. Unfortunately both dishes were disappointing - they had been prepared via a microwave oven. What a missed oppotunity for the hotel to do the job properly with a little extra effort. I conveyed these thoughts to the reception staff the following morning and was told that the chef would contact me personally. I am still waiting. If you go there - leave time to try a restaurant in Stevenage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bazauges, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family.

The room was large and comfortable, although the finish on the walls was a bit hit and miss. During our stay there was very large 18 birthday do and an even larger wedding reception. However we did not hear any noise from either event nor from the A1(M) which run a few meters away.

We did not eat at the premises as the prices seemed quite steep. £13.50 each for breakfast, however the restaurant looked comfortable and clean.

Would we stay here again. Yes most defiantly.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the premises and did not hear anything from the A1(M).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Stevenage

Address: Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Stevenage is a 3-star hotel, a 5 minute drive from central Stevenage. Your stay at this hotel puts you in close proximity to the A1(M),as well as Knebworth Park. The hotel has 101 stylish guest rooms, each with satellite TV. Elements Restaurant is open all day for international cuisine, while the bar is the ideal spot for a nightcap. The hotel boasts 6 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 150 people. The hotel is ideally located for events at Knebworth Park. Stansted airport 27 miles and London Luton Airport only 16 miles away. Explore the magic of the Harry Potter films at the Studio Tour London only 35 min away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Stevenage Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Stevenage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.